Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Really yummy. I had to make in a pinch so I used store bought frozen crust. The filling oozed out a lot. The glaze made such a difference to the look of the pie. Big hit at the table. Thanks again Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Nice, sweet pie. A bit too sweet for my taste after adding the custard. I cooked 2 pies (one slightly longer than the other) and neither set even after many hours in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This pie is so easy to make & delicious. It does have to sit and chill to meld the flavors. Could not find fresh nutmeg in my store but going to search for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I was very nervous when I made this bc I did it while my 1 yr old was taking a nap and was not able to get to the store but really wanted to try this. I ended up using what I had on hand which was 2 cups of strawberries and a cup and half of ruhbarb a 9 inch deep dish shell 1 cup and a quarter of sugar French vanilla coffe mate cuz I was out of milk apricot jelly for the glaze and I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg bc I was out. This tasted GREAT with that! Im sure if I had the proper ingredients this would be ridiculously outstanding! Thanks John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This is among the best pies I've ever made. Only made slight modifications. I added a little squeeze of lemon juice (I have a tree full, it goes in everything) & some orange zest to the fruit, & a little vanilla to the custard. I put a lattice top on it. Set up perfectly, even on a hot day. Wish I'd had this recipe when I was in Michigan last summer & up to my ears in rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I think this recipe is wonderful. The tart rhubarb is offset by the sweet custard. I followed the recipe exactly except for a little change during baking & it turned out great. I baked mine on a silpat baking mat in a cookie sheet for about 50 min, then moved the (glass) pie pan to the rack for another 20 min. So I baked it an extra 10min from the original recipe. The middle was still a bit jiggly when removing it from the oven but I figured it would set/bake a little more once it was out. The finished product was great. Could have *maybe* used a bit more baking, but it's still set enough it doesn't gel out when it's cut. And this is when it is cooled and stored in the refrigerator. **this pie is meant to be kept in the refrigerator & served cold otherwise it will ooze out and be too runny** It's a keeper recipe for me. I love custard pies and I love this pie recipe more than a regular strawberry rhubarb pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I was excited to try this recipe. I like rhubarb pie and I like strawberry rhubarb pie and I like custard added to pie. But the custard was too sweet and it didn't mellow the tartness of the rhubarb because it was all at the bottom. Sorry Chef John. Next time I'm making a standard strawberry rhubarb pie and pouring hot custard sauce on top. Then I know I'll be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This pie was so simple to make, and my whole family gave it TWO thumbs up!!! Kelcocat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I make pies all the time, and my family agreed that this recipe was one of the best I've ever made. I used half strawberries and half rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I followd the recipe exactly, but I must have done something wrong (which seems to happen when I bake). The rhubarb was crunchy. Sorry Chef John, I'm not a very good student!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmaguire81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snyder, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States