Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This is among the best pies I've ever made. Only made slight modifications. I added a little squeeze of lemon juice (I have a tree full, it goes in everything) & some orange zest to the fruit, & a little vanilla to the custard. I put a lattice top on it. Set up perfectly, even on a hot day. Wish I'd had this recipe when I was in Michigan last summer & up to my ears in rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I think this recipe is wonderful. The tart rhubarb is offset by the sweet custard. I followed the recipe exactly except for a little change during baking & it turned out great. I baked mine on a silpat baking mat in a cookie sheet for about 50 min, then moved the (glass) pie pan to the rack for another 20 min. So I baked it an extra 10min from the original recipe. The middle was still a bit jiggly when removing it from the oven but I figured it would set/bake a little more once it was out. The finished product was great. Could have *maybe* used a bit more baking, but it's still set enough it doesn't gel out when it's cut. And this is when it is cooled and stored in the refrigerator. **this pie is meant to be kept in the refrigerator & served cold otherwise it will ooze out and be too runny** It's a keeper recipe for me. I love custard pies and I love this pie recipe more than a regular strawberry rhubarb pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I was excited to try this recipe. I like rhubarb pie and I like strawberry rhubarb pie and I like custard added to pie. But the custard was too sweet and it didn't mellow the tartness of the rhubarb because it was all at the bottom. Sorry Chef John. Next time I'm making a standard strawberry rhubarb pie and pouring hot custard sauce on top. Then I know I'll be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This pie was so simple to make, and my whole family gave it TWO thumbs up!!! Kelcocat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I make pies all the time, and my family agreed that this recipe was one of the best I've ever made. I used half strawberries and half rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I followd the recipe exactly, but I must have done something wrong (which seems to happen when I bake). The rhubarb was crunchy. Sorry Chef John, I'm not a very good student!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmaguire81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snyder, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This recipe saved my booty. It's a perfect blend of sweet, sour, and creamy. My daughter brought home a gallon of rhubarb from her friend's house and I hadn't a clue what to do with it. I'm glad I chose this recipe! It was amazing! FYI some pecans in the crust recipe will not go amiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was wickedly good. I had no access to rhubarb, so I made the pie with four cups of strawberries. My family loved it on Thanksgiving day. I had to go ten minutes over the cooking time to get the correct consistency, but other than that, no problems. This is a perfect impress-your-friends dessert, and they don't need to know how easy it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
the first time i read this i was going to put a 1/4 c water in then i read before dumping it thank goodness if yours ends up runny that might be why only use 1/4 teaspoon of water and 3 tablespoons milk. there is very little moisture in this besides the eggs mine turned out wonderful. Used course sugar on top over warm jelly ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyoming, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pinkeyelion
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
We would make this again! A family member doesn't like strawberries, so we substituted pineapple, and it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States