Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Wow, this is really sweet. Turned out well, super easy, but SWEET.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Great pie, I put only 1 cup of sugar. Made it slightly tart, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Delicious...but, way too runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Tried this pie once before and everyone loved it. Did one today only used Splendra and sugar - free strawberry jam by Smuckers. Just as good. Whoopie! Now I can enjoy without guilt. I didn't tell anyone it was sugar-free til later. All loved it and said they would never have guessed. Will use this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Warnell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I'm making my second one right now. This came out great! Everyone in my family enjoyed it and that is a rare thing indeed. If you like rhubarb then this a nice pie to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This was easy and delicious - even though I only used 2 eggs and didn't have the filling mixed as well as in the video (which I watched AFTER I put it in the oven. Oops!). I baked an extra 10 mins until it seemed more jiggly than sloshy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rouge
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Amazing recipe, my pie crust was smaller so I used 2/3 of the recipe. I baked for 45 minutes probably because of the smaller pie crust or my oven gets hot really fast but it turned out great! I skipped the last step (forgot about it ) but it was still great. Served it with ice cream but it tasted great without it too unlike most pies. It wasn't tangy bec, the custard tasted great and sooo easy to make. I added vanilla essence and cinnamon but no nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Substituted sugar with calorie-free sweetener (Truvia) and real eggs with cholesterol-free egg product. Added vanilla. Turned out to be quite good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauri
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Wonderful easy recipe w/lots of flavor. I haven't had a strawberry rhubarb pie since I was a young girl. I'm not a fan of a double crusted pie so this looked perfect. I wouldn't consider myself a baker by any means but after having a huge craving for strawberry rhubarb & watching Chef John's video, I knew I could handle this. I didn't have enough sugar so I only used 1 1/4 cups (it was still sweet enough). I did bake it an extra 10 minutes because I just wasn't sure that it was set, not sure I needed too. My mother, who is an experienced baker was impressed by the glazed fruit on the top (excellant tip to brush it w/warmed jam - presentation was great). It set beautifully after being in fridge. Will definately make again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I have made this recipe a few times... With great success.. .. I was asked to make a few pies for a local community fund raiser and auction ... So now I can Boast that if you want my pies .. you'll need to pay a whopping $1000 each..... Thanks Chef John for sharing this recipe..!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfast, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States