Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
the first time i read this i was going to put a 1/4 c water in then i read before dumping it thank goodness if yours ends up runny that might be why only use 1/4 teaspoon of water and 3 tablespoons milk. there is very little moisture in this besides the eggs mine turned out wonderful. Used course sugar on top over warm jelly ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyoming, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Pretty good actually! Set up perfectly! Made two pies and both set up very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamacook
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Very good. Easy to make. I used frozen strawberries and rhubarb from our patch. Used the basic flakey pie crust recipe from this site. A nice different type of treat for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Definitely making this one again. Fan of rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Everyone loved this twist on classic strawberry rhubarb pie! Don't omit the nutmeg, but don't go overboard...it gives it a nice custard flavor. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pinkeyelion
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
We would make this again! A family member doesn't like strawberries, so we substituted pineapple, and it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
turned out absolutely perfect for me... followed exact instructions...MY FAVORITE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This recipe saved my booty. It's a perfect blend of sweet, sour, and creamy. My daughter brought home a gallon of rhubarb from her friend's house and I hadn't a clue what to do with it. I'm glad I chose this recipe! It was amazing! FYI some pecans in the crust recipe will not go amiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was wickedly good. I had no access to rhubarb, so I made the pie with four cups of strawberries. My family loved it on Thanksgiving day. I had to go ten minutes over the cooking time to get the correct consistency, but other than that, no problems. This is a perfect impress-your-friends dessert, and they don't need to know how easy it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Now I know where the expression, "easy as pie" comes from, but don't tell my family! This delicious pie with the sparkling ruby red finish could not have been easier. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States