Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Everyone loved this twist on classic strawberry rhubarb pie! Don't omit the nutmeg, but don't go overboard...it gives it a nice custard flavor. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
turned out absolutely perfect for me... followed exact instructions...MY FAVORITE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamacook
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Very good. Easy to make. I used frozen strawberries and rhubarb from our patch. Used the basic flakey pie crust recipe from this site. A nice different type of treat for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I give two stars but might change rating after I taste/eat it. It is still very runny and I baked it longer than the 1 hour...actually baked it for 1 hr and 45 minutes and still runny so I sure hope after I cool it, it changes, solid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Sooo good. On the video someone said it was to runny for them, so I used 2 cups of sugar, and 1/4 flour. My fruit wasn't nice and shinny even though I used the jam, but still SOOOO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This is a really easy, fun recipe. Everyone in my family loved this custard pie so much, I have made three in the past week. Using a prepared, frozen pie crust is not what I usually do but I agree that it makes this recipe go quickly and it tasted great. The custard filling is very generous in the 9" pie shell so don't over fill or you will have a mess in your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This recipe saved my booty. It's a perfect blend of sweet, sour, and creamy. My daughter brought home a gallon of rhubarb from her friend's house and I hadn't a clue what to do with it. I'm glad I chose this recipe! It was amazing! FYI some pecans in the crust recipe will not go amiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauri
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Wonderful easy recipe w/lots of flavor. I haven't had a strawberry rhubarb pie since I was a young girl. I'm not a fan of a double crusted pie so this looked perfect. I wouldn't consider myself a baker by any means but after having a huge craving for strawberry rhubarb & watching Chef John's video, I knew I could handle this. I didn't have enough sugar so I only used 1 1/4 cups (it was still sweet enough). I did bake it an extra 10 minutes because I just wasn't sure that it was set, not sure I needed too. My mother, who is an experienced baker was impressed by the glazed fruit on the top (excellant tip to brush it w/warmed jam - presentation was great). It set beautifully after being in fridge. Will definately make again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I have made this recipe a few times... With great success.. .. I was asked to make a few pies for a local community fund raiser and auction ... So now I can Boast that if you want my pies .. you'll need to pay a whopping $1000 each..... Thanks Chef John for sharing this recipe..!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfast, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Definitely making this one again. Fan of rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States