Strawberry Rhubarb Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I'm not much of a fruit pie person, but DH loves them. Part of what puts me off on them is the jell-like consistency of the filling. But, I had a pint of strawberries in the 'fridge and some pie plant in the freezer, so when I found this recipe (sans jell) I made it. Here are the mistakes I made so you can avoid them: #1 - don't let your frozen rhubarb thaw, it throws off the amount. I probably ended up using more like 8 cups instead of 4. Fresh rhubarb would be the best, but frozen will work as long as you measure it frozen when it's more the size of fresh. #2 - Don't use the strawberries you buy in March or early April. They are more sour and don't have a very good flavor. Or else adjust the amount of sugar you use to compensate for their sourness. I am definitely going to make this pie again in another month with good, locally grown strawberries and my own fresh cut pie plant. Thanks for the recipe Wilma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
As another reviewer said, it makes a LOT of filling, so I had two shells ready. This should be called a custard pie since there's no cream or milk involved. The eggs make a thick filling which sets up nicely. Also, be sure to keep the strawberry pieces relatively large; halve the smaller strawberries, cut the big ones into thirds. Cook at 400 for about 30 minutes and then reduce to 350 and cook another 15-20 minutes. Turn off oven and let the pie sit for 10-15 minutes. Let cool thoroughly before slicing. It'll cut cleanly. As another cook mentioned, don't put too much egg white or it'll brown too much. Comes out pretty! I reduced the nutmeg by half and added a dash of cinnamon. My husband scarfed it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This was strawberry rhubarb soup! Can someone please tell me what I should have done differently, because I followed the directions exactly and ended up with a watery mess. This was even worse than the other strawberry-rhubarb pie I made from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: North Salem, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
This is absolutely delicious!! It only took me 20 minutes to make it too. My Grandmother makes the best Strawberry-Rhubarb Custard Pie....and this one comes a very close second!! FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Excellent taste! Mine turned out really soupy, I served it about 10 minutes out of the oven, not sure if that is why. I have never tried this kind of pie before so I am not sure what I did wrong. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Growler
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Exellent recipe. I've searched for a pie recipe like this for a very long time. The texture is wonderful with the rhubarb and stawberries giving a sweet and sour taste with every bite. I used a store bought crust and then covered it half way through with aluminum foil to protect the crust from burning. I also used 1/2 sugar and 1/2 Splenda. Next time I will try with 100% Splenda. The pie came out perfect. Very easy and quick recipe to make. Perfect with French Vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
this was VERY good. the only thing i would say is that the recipe makes way too much filling, and i had to throw some of it out. i also didnt even need to cook it 40 minutes at that temp instead of an hour. anyway it turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limington, Maine, USA
Living In: Gorham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
This was quite the hit and it was easy! I had never cooked with rhubard, so I wasn't sure what to expect. FYI watch the egg white you spread on the top of the pie.... if you spread too much it will brown to quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDIKIRK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haymarket, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I am not usually a fan of strawberry rhubarb pie, but had a request to make one and chose this recipe. Wow! I love this pie. I think it is the best pie I've ever had. I didn't change a thing in the recipe. Thanks, Wilma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Wow!! mixing the rhubarb and strawberry in a custard was a fantasic idea. I love how it holds its shape after being sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Marina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States