Strawberry Rhubarb Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
tasted great would certainly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ridgeway, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This is divine! I only had one frozen pie crust, although I'd usually have made my own if I'd had the time, so hubby put the remainder of the filling into a Pyrex dish and baked it along with the pie. The single pie crust also meant no top crust. However both were absolutely delicious: the pie for dessert last evening and the strawberry rhubarb custard for breakfast this morning with a bit of greek yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I tried this and my family officially LOVED IT!! I used fresh rhubarb and it was perfect. I even loved the texture of the custard. AMAZINGLY DELICICOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gnadenhutten, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I made this recipe with freshly picked strawberries and fresh rhubarb. Baked it the full 60 minutes, and it turned out perfect! Maybe using fresh, not frozen rhubarb is the key?? I love how the custard solidifies the pie - no messy runny pie, and the crust stays flaky. Would use a bit less nutmeg next time,as I found the taste a bit powerful. I added a dash of cinnamon as well. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I think this was a great blend of rhubarb and strawberry. I used Splenda Blend which halves the sugar. I also used store bought crust and covered after half the time. Finally I did what someone else suggested and baked at 400 for 30 minutes, 350 for 20 minutes and rest in the oven for 15 minutes. DELISH - even warm I didn't have any consistency issues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Soooooo Good! This is a winner, and will definately be made again, I did not have any consistancy issues, so I think refridgeration is key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCADK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This pie had a great flavor. I didn't change anything and I loved it. My daughter thought it was a little sweet so the next time I make it I may cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Very good. I made two 9" pies out of the one recipe. I used frozen fruit and measured them cold. I also used a crumble crust topping and thought it worked well. I used the suggestion to start baking at 400deg. and reduce to 350 deg. after 30 minutes. I made it last night and we ate it today. The consistency was very good. My husband said, "make sure you keep this recipe." Would definitely recommend to fruit pie lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
this recipe was delicious, made it at the small restaurant i work at and it didn't even last a day. Everyone was complimenting on how good it was. Tastes just like my grandmother's recipe which she won't give to me =). I did have to use frozen fruit but it still sturned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This pie was very good and easy to make!! I gave it a 4 1/2 because it had a little bit of a weird texture, but still tasted delicious! I brought it to a work picnic and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States