Strawberry Rhubarb Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
As another reviewer said, it makes a LOT of filling, so I had two shells ready. This should be called a custard pie since there's no cream or milk involved. The eggs make a thick filling which sets up nicely. Also, be sure to keep the strawberry pieces relatively large; halve the smaller strawberries, cut the big ones into thirds. Cook at 400 for about 30 minutes and then reduce to 350 and cook another 15-20 minutes. Turn off oven and let the pie sit for 10-15 minutes. Let cool thoroughly before slicing. It'll cut cleanly. As another cook mentioned, don't put too much egg white or it'll brown too much. Comes out pretty! I reduced the nutmeg by half and added a dash of cinnamon. My husband scarfed it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This recipe is fantastic. I've made it several times in the past couple of months for my husband. One of his co-workers said it was better than his mother makes! Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMadBaker313

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and it overflowed ALL over my oven - even into the drawer below. I had it on a cookie sheet too :( The pie tasted fantastic but my afternoon consisted of scrubbing, scrubbing and more scrubbing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy&4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Eh. I found this pie to be a little disappointing. It wasn't bad and would be good for beginners since it is extremely easy. I used whole wheat flour and refrigerated the pie and it was not runny. It just wasn't as tangy and fresh-tasting as my usual strawberry rhubarb pie (strawberries, rhubarb, tapioca, sugar, butter and my secret ingredient- grated orange rind) and the filling was not a clear, pretty red, but a murky pink and beige instead. That said, I heard no complaints from the family, so perhaps I'm too picky?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
made this for mothers day and it was a huge success. never made a pie before and this was simple and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Aspen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Perfection!! Both sweet and tart at the same time. Those who commented that it was like soup obviously served the pie soon after it was baked. I made this pie in the morning to serve for dessert after dinner and it was perfect and enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
fantastic!superfast and easy.not overly sweet, the strawberry/rhubarb combo is so delicious.i used storebought crust,fresh rhubarb(which we have tons of right now)and just under 3 cups of strawberries -used a little less nutmeg(ca 1/2 tsp)and also added some cinnamon(ca 1/4 tsp).my husband and i couldnt wait till it cooled and had to have a piece(with whipped cream :))filling therefore was just a tad runny but did set up after cooling.A winner for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altenkunstadt, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This was my first attempt as cooking with rhubard---WOW !! this is a fabulous pie with great flavors and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi
Home Town: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I stuck to the exact recipe and it turned out great. Will make again! A scoop of vanilla ice cream and it is the perfect spring dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Wow!! mixing the rhubarb and strawberry in a custard was a fantasic idea. I love how it holds its shape after being sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Marina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States