Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Turned out great! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Light, fresh and delicious. I tried this with a white cake rather than strawberry mix. I was concerned stawberry flavored cake would taste too chemical-like. Cheesecake pudding is excellent! It made a beautiful layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
So easy, so pretty, so..so...so...good! We thought it was the cats meow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This cake is wicked awsome! I made it twice in one week, first for a work party, and it was almost gone before lunch time. Second was for relatives B-day party, and again, it disapeared before anything else. The only thing that I changed was that I used Cheesecake pudding instead of vanilla, but would probably be just as yummy. Will make again & again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I have made this frosting before but I only use 2/3 cup of milk. This leaves the frosting with a little bit more of a thick texture. I really liked this cake. The only thing I woulc change next time is poking more holes in the cake. I tried to keep the holes to a minimum because I thought the strawberries would make the cake soggy. Luckily I was wrong but my lack of holes left more strawberries on the sides of the cake rather than on top and in the holes. Overall though this cake was awesome! Light and Refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I made this with yellow cake mix as someone had mentioned previously. The flavors of the cake, strawberries, and icing all meld together to create something greater than the sum of the parts. It's very good. Just don't make the mistake of trying to stack it up for a layer cake, what a mess! It's hard to keep the icing from sliding off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I did this same thing with a yellow cake mix and it was quite good. Made it for my son's birthday party last week and everyone who tried it loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Connersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Delicious! I added 1/2 tbsp cornstarch like everyone else and make cupcakes to take to work. They were so good and I got lots of compliments. Making cupcakes don't take as much puree and frosting, so I would probably half those the next time I make them. Trust me... ther WILL be a next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I tried this recipe the first time because I left a strawberry cake in the oven too long and I wanted to see if I could save it. I'm SO GLAD I did. I've received marriage proposals because of this recipe, and it's so yummy and unbelievably easy to throw together. I like to use the instant white chocolate pudding and garnish with fresh strawberries and white chocolate curls when I make it, but the vanilla or cheesecake flavors are great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Glitter Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This was excellent. I followed advice and added 1/2 tbsp corn starch to the topping mixture before adding to the cake. I refrigerated for about 2 hours after adding the strawberry puree before adding the whipped topping, then refrigerated overnight before serving. If you're noticing that the puree isn't sinking into the cake, poke more holes and sweep the puree over the holes with a spatula or spoon, that will force it into the cake. Ours held up very well and served beautifully. Everyone raved. I particularly liked how easy it was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States