Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
great with either a starwberry cake mix or white. i prefer white. make sure you poke large holes in cake, it doesn't matter that it will look like you are tearing your cake up, becuse once you put strawberries on top and slice it all you will see is the beautiful strawberry goodness in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
A very delicious, super-moist cake! I also took the recommendations of some of the other reviewers, substituted a golden cake mix, used applesauce instead of oil (1:1), and tried the white chocolate pudding mix. I also topped it with some white chocolate curls to decorate. It was a hit, and received many compliments and requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was very good and easy. I went with what I had on hand... Rainbow chip cake mix instead of strawberry. I didn't have enough frozen strawberries, so I used frozen strawberries, frozen peaches, and a tiny bit of fresh pineapple I had left over. I found it hard to soak into the cake as well, and only used 1/2 of the puree (fine, I saved the other 1/2 for smoothies later). And I found it difficult to "frost" with the pudding whipped topping mixture, so I sort of drizzeled it over the cake and it came out very pretty after topping with the fresh strawberries! It was cool and light and very yummy! I will make this again and it's easy to fit into what you've got around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Very good recipe. Didn't have the frozen strawberries so I used fresh strawberries added sugar and pureed them for the cake. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lichi66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I've made this twice now and both times have been very frustrated trying to frost the cake. There seemed to be too much strawberry puree, so it swirled in with the frosting and got pretty ugly looking. I may try this with a white cake and raspberries next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This is AMAZING! I used white cake instead of strawberry which was delicious. I could not get the strawberry puree to soak into the cake, I had to make huge holes with the knife but it did end up working. I put fresh strawberry slices inbetween the 2 layers of cake as well as a thick layer of the whip cream and cool whip. I also used the puree to pour over the top of the cake when I served it and added a fresh pile of strawberries! A GREAT summer dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Very moist. Everyone that had it said it was good. I thought it was just okay. I guess I was expecting a fresh strawberry flavor but all I could taste was the fake strawberry cake mix. I don't think I would make it again unless someone asked for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
A huge hit with my whole family, ages 4 - 70. I will make this again and again! I incorporated many of the suggestions from others: used white cake mix instead of strawberry, adding 3 pureed strawberries to the mix (and a little less oil), which gave it a nice slightly grainy/wholesome texture; used cheesecake pudding; added 1/2 T cornstarch to topping to thicken; added 1 tsp sugar to strawberry puree. After spooning pureed strawberries on the cake, I put the cake in the freezer for 30 minutes before topping, making it easy to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Very good. I didn't change anything about it. Would be great with the cheesecake and white chocolate puddings that were suggested by other reviewer's. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I made this cake for me and my husband, and we ourselves ate it in a couple of days. It is very refreshing.A cousin of mine brought something like this to our family reunion. I noticed this cake disappeared real fast, so I looked for a recipe like hers. I will make it again, but will wait to take it to a family function or something. I did use the white cake mix instead of strawberry Good recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nay nay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States