Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Wendy
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Yummy & refreshing dessert for the summertime. I also used a white-cake, instead of strawberry. I poked my holes in the cake, still hot right out of the oven, and it looked like a big mess, but turned out better than I expected when served. I would probably wait til the cake cooled a bit before making the holes again. I also used (1) 16oz container of frozen strawberries in juice with about 2-cups of fresh strawberries (I had cut up & sprinkled with sugar & let sit overnight in the fridge)... poured them in the blender with the container of strawberries & juice I thawed out & blended, but still leaving chunks of strawberries. There was a good bit of strawberry pieces on top of the cake after I poured it on top, but I spread them out & refrigerated the cake overnight, and then "frosted" the cake the next day, and there was no mess with spreading the topping. I also used the Cheesecake flavor pudding mix and used an entire 8oz container of whipped topping instead of 2-cups, and it turned out fine. Everyone really enjoyed the cake, it was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Not as great as it sounded..we were dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is one of my favorite cake recipes. Every time I've made it for family and friends, it's been a hit. The cake is very moist and refreshing. It's very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catherine Lawrence Burns
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
With my changes I feel like this is a 5 star cake! I used a yellow cake mix. I cooked 1 package of frozen strawberries on the stove with sugar and vanilla, and then pureed the mixture along with a half cup of fresh strawberries. I then mixed in another half cup of diced strawberries. I poked holes in the hot cake and poured the puree mixture over it. Do this slowly so that you can try to get as much in the holes as possible, put in fridge to cool. I used cheesecake flavored instant pudding for the topping. Prepare the pudding with 1 cup milk and refrigerate for 10 or 15 minutes. Then fold in the whipped topping and spread over cake. The topping...oh my gosh. Cheesecake pudding is the way to go! We actually licked the bowl clean! Top with fresh sliced strawberries. This cake went so fast it made my head spin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Lawrence Burns

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This is the cake that everyone request for parties..its my signature cake and kids and adults love it alike...I bake the cake in a 9x13 glass pan but it is pretty much the same otherwise...I got the recipe from the side of the cake box and have been making it for years...its a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I thought it was okay. I couldn't get the puree to soak into the cake so it just sat on top and made the cake really mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
The key is chilling cake after each layer of ingredients you add. Instead of using a wooden spoon to poke holes in cake (which didn't seem to work for most people who left reviews), I pierced the cake using solid-ended thongs. After the thongs pierced the cake, I gently opened prongs up, creating a perfect space to spoon in pureed strawberries! Be careful with thongs near the edges so as to not cause the cake to crack open. It worked perfectly! I added thawed strawberries to white cake mix. Immediately after making pudding (before it had time to set and using 1 1/2 c milk instead of 2), I was able to "pour" it over cake, which was VERY important. I used cool whip and fresh strawberries for topping, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
great with either a starwberry cake mix or white. i prefer white. make sure you poke large holes in cake, it doesn't matter that it will look like you are tearing your cake up, becuse once you put strawberries on top and slice it all you will see is the beautiful strawberry goodness in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
A very delicious, super-moist cake! I also took the recommendations of some of the other reviewers, substituted a golden cake mix, used applesauce instead of oil (1:1), and tried the white chocolate pudding mix. I also topped it with some white chocolate curls to decorate. It was a hit, and received many compliments and requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was very good and easy. I went with what I had on hand... Rainbow chip cake mix instead of strawberry. I didn't have enough frozen strawberries, so I used frozen strawberries, frozen peaches, and a tiny bit of fresh pineapple I had left over. I found it hard to soak into the cake as well, and only used 1/2 of the puree (fine, I saved the other 1/2 for smoothies later). And I found it difficult to "frost" with the pudding whipped topping mixture, so I sort of drizzeled it over the cake and it came out very pretty after topping with the fresh strawberries! It was cool and light and very yummy! I will make this again and it's easy to fit into what you've got around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States