Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by sdot
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Delicious, looks beautiful... I am not a fan of cake mixes, so I made a basic white cake and then followed the recipe as written except I had to add extra cool whip to make it more spreadable. I've made it twice and it always goes really fast! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I made this for a ladies club meeting and they loved it! It was light, moist and cool on a hot Texas day! I used cheesecake pudding instead of the vanilla. I also love that a piece is a reasonable amount of calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Didn't think this would turn out well... I didn't put as much of the puree in. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I changed the cake mix to a butter recipe mix instead of a strawberry mix and I doubled the topping....this was delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv 2 Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was a great dessert for our summer barbecue. It was refreshing and light. I was really surprised how the strawberries soaked right into the cake. As the recipe stated, I let the cake cool first, then spooned the pureed strawberries over the top. Even two days later, the cake was not soggy at all. Like a few other reviewers, I used white cake mix. I just don't really like the "fake" taste of strawberry cake mix, and thought the white cake was a nice contrast to the strawberries and creamy topping. I didn't feel like the topping needed cornstarch or anything else to thicken it - mine had a nice, easy to spread texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Yummy & refreshing dessert for the summertime. I also used a white-cake, instead of strawberry. I poked my holes in the cake, still hot right out of the oven, and it looked like a big mess, but turned out better than I expected when served. I would probably wait til the cake cooled a bit before making the holes again. I also used (1) 16oz container of frozen strawberries in juice with about 2-cups of fresh strawberries (I had cut up & sprinkled with sugar & let sit overnight in the fridge)... poured them in the blender with the container of strawberries & juice I thawed out & blended, but still leaving chunks of strawberries. There was a good bit of strawberry pieces on top of the cake after I poured it on top, but I spread them out & refrigerated the cake overnight, and then "frosted" the cake the next day, and there was no mess with spreading the topping. I also used the Cheesecake flavor pudding mix and used an entire 8oz container of whipped topping instead of 2-cups, and it turned out fine. Everyone really enjoyed the cake, it was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Not as great as it sounded..we were dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is one of my favorite cake recipes. Every time I've made it for family and friends, it's been a hit. The cake is very moist and refreshing. It's very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by catglaw
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
With my changes I feel like this is a 5 star cake! I used a yellow cake mix. I cooked 1 package of frozen strawberries on the stove with sugar and vanilla, and then pureed the mixture along with a half cup of fresh strawberries. I then mixed in another half cup of diced strawberries. I poked holes in the hot cake and poured the puree mixture over it. Do this slowly so that you can try to get as much in the holes as possible, put in fridge to cool. I used cheesecake flavored instant pudding for the topping. Prepare the pudding with 1 cup milk and refrigerate for 10 or 15 minutes. Then fold in the whipped topping and spread over cake. The topping...oh my gosh. Cheesecake pudding is the way to go! We actually licked the bowl clean! Top with fresh sliced strawberries. This cake went so fast it made my head spin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catglaw

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This is the cake that everyone request for parties..its my signature cake and kids and adults love it alike...I bake the cake in a 9x13 glass pan but it is pretty much the same otherwise...I got the recipe from the side of the cake box and have been making it for years...its a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States