Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I made this recipe for Easter and formed a cross on top with the fresh strawberries. It looked beautiful, but I wasn't that impressed with the taste. It was good, but not what I expected it to taste like. I've tasted better strawberry cakes. I was surprised at how runny the pudding and whipped topping was. Some of the pureed strawberries showed through. I probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I've made a recipe very similar for a few years now and everytime there is any sort of family of church function I am automatically asked to bring this. I just make a few adaptations that make the cake super moist and also make it lower in fat. I follow the directions on the box, but I omit the oil, add 1 small package of vanilla pudding to the mix and a 1/2 package of frozen strawberries and the syrup to the mix. I then bake as instructed on the back of the box. I top with sour cream icing with low fat whipped topping and cover with the rest of the frozen strawberries and drizzle with left over syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This cake has been a big summer hit! Made it for 2 cookouts and guests loved it! I did, however,use a white cake mix instead of strawberry mix to give it a fresher appearance. Make this cake and become the hit of the neighborhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
I used yellow cake mix instead of strawberry cake mix because I thought it would be too much strawberry. I was wrong. It was missing something. I think if I'd gone with the recipe, it would have been much better. Got rave reviews at the house, though. Everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
I made this cake along w/ Better Than Sex Cake II for my daughter's 2nd birthday party. Everyone complemented on how good it was. The fact that it doesn't cost a lot to make and that it was an easy recipe made me want to try it. I will more than likely make it again if I have the opportunity. Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
Everyone loved it!! I subsituted French Vanilla cake mix instead of strawberry cake mix. My grandmother used chocolate cake for a modified Black Forest Cake. It was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
EXCELLENT RECIPE! I substituted cheesecake flavored instant pudding ~ Heavenly. The cake was gone by day two in my house of six. Everyone begged me to make another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
Absolutely wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
really delicious. used half-and-half instead of milk to make the pudding for extra creaminess. raves from all who tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
Made this cake for a family picnic and everybody loved it! It's really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States