Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I changed it to 4 stars after I rated it 2 after it sat overnight it was good. Four hours is not enough time. I did substitute applesauce for the oil and added cornstarch to the milk like another reviewer suggested. I also added vanilla extract but it still was missing something. It was only 95 calories a slice and since I always have frozen strawberries, this recipe is a keeper! Sweetened condensed milk and/or cream cheese to the topping or rum in the strawberries?? I was expecting something like a tres leches, so I expected a very moist cake so that was not the issue. I also poked lots of holes in the cake and then went around the edges with a spatula, and pressed down on the cake so it would soak up purée.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Okay, so I started making this cake and realized I didn't have any strawberries, frozen or otherwise. Oops. Well, I did have frozen blueberries. Oh, and I also didn't have enough milk so I used buttermilk. Again, oops. Back to the blueberries. I put 2 pints in a saucepan, added a heap of sugar and a tablespoon or so of vanilla extract. Boiled until gelatinous and then pureed. Hey, why not improvise. Let me tell you, it worked out quite nicely. Who doesn't like blueberries and strawberries mixed together in a delicious cake of goodness. POW! Double POW!!!! I say throw in the kitchen sink of berries. Yummmmmmmm. It pleased a whole family. Good luck and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Meatcakes
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I've made one similar, but instead of using milk with the pudding, try one small carton of heavy whipping cream with the box of pudding and whip it with a hand mixer until it holds firm . Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I originally made this for my family for valentine's day, but hubby brought home cupcakes on his way home from work, so I ended up serving this to my elementary class the next day. They all loved it. I, too, had the same problem with the strawberry puree layer. After putting them on, I just spread the remaining evenly across the top and let it refrigerate over night. The next day I put the "icing" on carefully spreading, so not to mix the strawberry layer with the icing layer. I did have the same problem with the icing being a tad runny. If you aren't gentle enough in mixing, it will definitely get runny. I thought the strawberry layer part did leave the cake a bit soggy on the top, but for the kids, they all thought it was great. I can't say it was a bad recipe, but it needs a bit of tweaking to be a five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Delicious!! I brought this cake to a BBQ today and everyone loved it! My only change was I didn't use frozen and then thawed strawberries. I put 1 pint of fresh strawberries, 1/2 cup sugar, and 1/8 of a cup water into my food processor and then pureed it. Super easy recipe and a huge hit. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRYSTALRAINSMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Hazel Green, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Everyone loves this one! It's so light and refreshing in the middle of summer. I chill my cake in the fridge while I'm preparing the strawberries and also used the handle of a wooden spoon to make big holes for the berries. I make this (and other poke cakes) often in the summer so I bought a clear plastic, ketsup type squeeze bottle and cut the end down so it has a very large opening. This makes it so much easier to fill the holes. It works great for cupcakes and layer cakes also. I store the cake in the fridge while I make the frosting. When making the frosting, I make the pudding first and allow it to thicken a bit before gently folding in an 8 oz container of cool whip. In the summer "Cool Whip" does sell a strawberry flavor, but if that isn't available, I add a bit of strawberry extract and a drop of red food coloring to the frosting because if you use the vanilla instant pudding without it, it's sort of yellow looking and not very pretty looking on a pink cake. Before frosting the cake I go back and refill the holes as the cake will absorb some of the berries. Try this one you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Mollie
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
We wanted to make a simple strawberry cake and this was a great recipe. Didn't make the topping becuz I needed white buttercream. But cake was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
i just made this cake for my grandmothers birthday and boy was it a HIT!! I used 2boxes of Pillsbury Moist Stawberry Cake mix (to make a 1/2sheet, fed 40) and it was all gone in one night!!!!! I also used unsweetened frozen strawberry to control the amount of sugar i wanted in the dish! This is definitely a receipe that i will keep and use over again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrice Bevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Yummy! Next time I will try one of the suggested variations. I'm not usually a fan of boxed mixes or cool whip but the fresh fruit makes it fabulous. I used fresh strawberries with added sugar, pureed using my immersion blender, when I poked the cake with the end of a wooden spoon the holes were big enough to let the fruit soak in. Used the cheesecake pudding made with 1 1/2 cups skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
very good, the strawberry puree did not come out as thin as I thought so it did not seep down into the wholes but it was still very good, I also used yellow cake to make it taste more like a shortcake. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anjee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States