Strawberry Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Used a little less sugar than it called for and substituted Sugar-Free Jello and it turned out great. My family absolutely loved it. Something a little different than the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breese, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This really sounds great but when I got this recipe I simply used about 1 cup pecans and 1 1/2 teaspoon sugar and a little (1 teaspoon) butter mixed together as the bottom layer. Cooked it for 15 minutes at 350 degrees, let cool then added the other layers. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I followed the suggestions: - spray non-stick cooking spray in pan -completely cool crust (I made crust the night before...easy!)! -1 1/2 times the creme cheese filling -make sure cr. cheese filling touches all edges of pan -added 1/3 pkg. gelatin to the jello and let it thicken some before putting it on top. Then all you have to do is have extra copies of the recipe with you...to hand out! Everyone wants it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I LOVE this recipe. The only problem is that I can only make it for events like partys and picnics becuase it has to be eaten quickly. even 3 days later, I can still eat it because the flavor is good but soggy pretzels don't taste well. I have made this 2 times now and took the advise to double check for holes in the cream cheese layer. It definately helped prevent leaking. I think next time I'll make the jello first because it didn't allow enough time to set and I used fresh strawberries. maybe frozen would help set faster. I even added jsut a little bit of non flavored gelatin to it hoping that would help. I guess if i didn't make it at 1130 at night, I would have been able to allow more time for the jello to set. also let the pan from the pretzels cool completely because the 1st time I thought it was cool enough it started melting my cream cheese layer! didn't affect taste much but I think that caused the leaking! yum, yum, yum. This is a favorite in our household and at our parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devinsmommy920

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I have made this over and over. People always ask for the recipe. I follow the ingredients exactly. I have found if you make it exactly according to instructions though, the jello layer will seep into the bottom layers and the crust crumbles when cutting. To prevent these issues freeze the curst layer before adding cream cheese layer. Then freeze again with cream cheese layer on. I also allow the jello/strawberry mix to set up nearly all the way before adding to the layers. You will get a perfect, easy to serve layered dessert everytime this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Pretty good, my jello layer didnt stick to my cream cheese layer but other than that it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Excellent dish. I loved that it used fresh strawberries. I didn't think was too sweet at all. I may make 1 1/2 of the amount of cream cheese/whipped topping next time. I also cooled the crust completely, put the jello mixture in the freezer for a bit, and absolutely made sure my topping was sealed. I will be making this next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I have had this before, but never made it until last night. It was more work than I expected, but worth it in the end. I followed the chilling and sealing steps carefully, as other reviewers mentioned that being important. It turned out great. The only thing I did differently as all, was I melted the butter. I will try this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Well, I got anxious.. I added the cream before the pretzels were cooled and then added the jello before it was set enough... the cream came up and the jello went down... soooo i have an opposite cake with probably soggy pretzels. Better luck next time, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraguajardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I used rod pretzels which I wouldn't suggest because they're too hard & then the dessert is too crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States