Strawberry Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I LOVE this recipe. The only problem is that I can only make it for events like partys and picnics becuase it has to be eaten quickly. even 3 days later, I can still eat it because the flavor is good but soggy pretzels don't taste well. I have made this 2 times now and took the advise to double check for holes in the cream cheese layer. It definately helped prevent leaking. I think next time I'll make the jello first because it didn't allow enough time to set and I used fresh strawberries. maybe frozen would help set faster. I even added jsut a little bit of non flavored gelatin to it hoping that would help. I guess if i didn't make it at 1130 at night, I would have been able to allow more time for the jello to set. also let the pan from the pretzels cool completely because the 1st time I thought it was cool enough it started melting my cream cheese layer! didn't affect taste much but I think that caused the leaking! yum, yum, yum. This is a favorite in our household and at our parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devinsmommy920

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I have made this over and over. People always ask for the recipe. I follow the ingredients exactly. I have found if you make it exactly according to instructions though, the jello layer will seep into the bottom layers and the crust crumbles when cutting. To prevent these issues freeze the curst layer before adding cream cheese layer. Then freeze again with cream cheese layer on. I also allow the jello/strawberry mix to set up nearly all the way before adding to the layers. You will get a perfect, easy to serve layered dessert everytime this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Pretty good, my jello layer didnt stick to my cream cheese layer but other than that it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Excellent dish. I loved that it used fresh strawberries. I didn't think was too sweet at all. I may make 1 1/2 of the amount of cream cheese/whipped topping next time. I also cooled the crust completely, put the jello mixture in the freezer for a bit, and absolutely made sure my topping was sealed. I will be making this next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I have had this before, but never made it until last night. It was more work than I expected, but worth it in the end. I followed the chilling and sealing steps carefully, as other reviewers mentioned that being important. It turned out great. The only thing I did differently as all, was I melted the butter. I will try this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Well, I got anxious.. I added the cream before the pretzels were cooled and then added the jello before it was set enough... the cream came up and the jello went down... soooo i have an opposite cake with probably soggy pretzels. Better luck next time, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraguajardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I used rod pretzels which I wouldn't suggest because they're too hard & then the dessert is too crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I couldn't believe how many people were going back for seconds (and thirds) of this dessert. Very delicous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
A little bit too sweet, I'd cut back on the sugar next time. Mine stuck to the pan big time, so theres some tweaking needed too. Mine got all runny so I think I needed to let the jello set more before pouring it over the cream cheese mixture. All in all, it was still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I've prepared Pretzel Salad for years and my family and friends love it. I switch it up using sugar free jello which saves on the calories. Also, I use Orange gelatin and add pineapple tidbits in place of Strawberry. This is nice for the fall and Thanksgiving holiday. It's also great served with chicken salad and croissants. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States