Strawberry Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I made this for my Easter dinner as the dessert. It was very good. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle L. Opitz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I don't give out 5 stars easily, but this one really deserves it! What a perfect balance between the sweet and the salty. I was concerned that the strawberry flavor would be left behind after the pretzels and the creamy filling, but I was wrong. For those of you concerned about the amount of sugar in this recipe, (I will sometimes cut back), the flavors are balanced perfectly. Despite having some rich ingredients, this salad still tastes light, barely sweet, with just a wonderful combination of flavors. This is a terrific "multi-generational" side dish because the kids and the grandparents seem to love the jello aspect of it and I think those in between appreciate it for its delightful and surprisingly sophisticated flavor. Try this one AS IS.... it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Pretzels..who would of thought. This is just plain yummy! Being a gal from the South, I like my food rich and fattening...no fat free and sugar free for me. I might get hit by a car tomorrow, so I'm enjoying good stuff like this today! Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This is my son's favorite desert, he always asks for it on special occaisions. I had lost my sisters recipe, this one is exactly like it. If you use strawberry whipped cream it is even better!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This was just O.K. I have been served this dessert before and I really enjoyed it. However, I thought this recipe had too much of a "cool whip" taste and not enough cream cheese. I will make this again but with a different recipe. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Excellent! The idea kind of worried me, but I decided to give it a try due to all the great reviews, and we are all glad I did! I made this with light Jell-o, and took the advice of another to put the pretzel crust into the freezer, as well as melting the butter a bit to form the crust better. DH asked me to make this for his Easter pot luck at work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Yum, I had to make 4 desserts for my sons high school hockey teams pasta dinner, this one was gone in a minute! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Though I haven't made this exact recipe, the Strawberry Pretzel Salad that my family makes (which I am pretty sure is the exact same) is AMAZING. Very addicting, and it always gets rave reviews. Guaranteed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is delicious! I've made it several times and I wouldn't change a THING. It's a wonderful summer dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nitro, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
My family has been making this salad for years and we've learned a few tricks I thought I would pass on. 1) Freeze the pretzel layer until completely cooled and hardened. 2) Add 1/3 of a packet of gelatin to the jello mixture. 3) Allow the jello mixture to chill before pouring on top of the cream cheese layer. Hope these hints help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States