Strawberry Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
My family has been making this salad for years and we've learned a few tricks I thought I would pass on. 1) Freeze the pretzel layer until completely cooled and hardened. 2) Add 1/3 of a packet of gelatin to the jello mixture. 3) Allow the jello mixture to chill before pouring on top of the cream cheese layer. Hope these hints help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Great recipe!!! Whenever I make it I bring several copies of the recipe because people ALWAYS ask for me for it! ***Hint*** I made the mistake of crushing the pretzels in their original store bought bag and ended up with all of the extra salt from the bottom of the bag in my recipe...Too Salty! I recommend putting the pretzels in a Ziploc bag and crushing with a rolling pin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
My cousin-in-law made this for Christmas two years ago. I couldn't get enough of it, and she forgot to send me the recipe. Needless to say, I was very glad to find it here! It's delicious. One suggestion for cooks using electric ovens and Pyrex-type bakeware, lightly cover the pan with cooking spray before baking the pretzel crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves to Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Good recipe - it tasted similar to a "Banana Split Cake." ***Tip: crush pretzels in a deep bowl, with the bottom of a heavy glass. I tried using a ziplock bag but the sharp edges of the pretzels put holes in the bag. I also followed the suggestion of melting butter and mixing in the brown sugar before adding the crushed pretzels. Lastly, I used frozen whole strawberries which helped the jello set faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
Very good, however, really ensure you do have your cream cheese/whipped topping layer sealed well before you add the jello layer. I obviously did not, and some of my jello went to the bottom! It would also help to not add the jello layer until it has some thickness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
The margarine & brown sugar should be melted before adding to the crushed pretzels, otherwise the crust doesn't hold. Also, try reducing the crushed pretzels to 2 cups instead of 2 1/2. Also, the cream cheese layer is disproportionately small, especially compared to the gelatin layer on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
This recipe was excellent! I made it for our daugther's first birthday as part of the menu, and everyone absolutely loved it. The only change I made was that I pureed the strawberries in a food processor and then added it to the gelatin. I think next time I make it, I'll make the gelatin layer first since it took quite some time to cool off. The pretzel crust didn't get soggy, even after 3 days and we've enjoyed the leftovers. This is definitely a recipe I'll make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Turned out great! Didn't overcook crust, didn't use light cool whip, and made sure edges were sealed so jello didn't seep to bottom. Thank you for posting the recipe and thanks to everyone else who wrote in their tips! You all helped make this perfect! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I had this at a party several times and now I have the receipe. This is a dessert and the saltiness of the pretzel bottom gives it an unique flavor. I tried raspberries and raspberry gelatin in instead of strawberry and it was superb!!! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
this was a great success,it was easy, and comes out delicious. Just leave yourself enough time to let the top layer set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Simone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States