Strawberry Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I have made this before, but it's been awhile. It's chilling in my freezer but I can tell you the problems I had in preparing this. First, I tried to halve the recipe. Second, the cream cheese mixture was not adequate enough to cover the pretzel layer and the pretzel layer began to pull up and away. Third, I used fresh strawberries I had picked which were fine, but the gelatin layer did not seem to set. Furthermore, because my cream cheese mixture was too sparse, it did not seal the edges and the gelatin layer seeped to the bottom. Since I had to be at a 4th of July party 1/2 hour ago and it's still not set, we may be serving gooey, watery pretzel salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
First of all, I made a mistake. I didn't realize you were not supposed to put in the 2 cups of cold water that you put in when making Jello until I read someone say maybe you were supposed to do that. I don't know that would have made any difference to my rating. It was way too salty for me, and I didn't care for that. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This went fast! Everyone loved it at the last family picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
We love this recipe! It's very light and not hard to make. Add this to your list because it's a hit no matter where you take it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Interesting taste...makes a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I love this recipe! I made for Thanksgiving last year and am planning on making it again for Easter. I love the freshness of the jello and cream cheese and the crunchiness from the pretzels. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Oh thank you for this recipe! Growing up, my friend's mom made this for dessert. She always served dessert after every dinner! My friend and her little sister hated it, but I loved it sooo much! I would get my friend's helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
It came out good but for some reason this was just not a big hit with my (very large, extended) family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I was not real pleased with this one. I followed the recipe as stated and the pretzel bottom stuck to the bottom of the pan. The middle tasted good, but the top was too much like jello and I thought it should have had a softer texture. I will not be making this again. What a waste of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Yummy! I didn't make this but it was brought by someone I didn't know. The texture seemed a bit weird but I couldn't get over the sweet and the salty. My daughter and I kept trying to figure out what it was when someone walked by and said they just got the recipe. I had to go online, find the exact recipe and review it. It is soo good. I had seconds and shared my husband's. I didn't want to take more than my share. :) Wish I could have though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States