Strawberry Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
My aunt has been making this recipe for years & has given me a few pointers....as Hollyfae said, be sure & make sure your cream cheese is all the way to the edges of the pan & sealed (to keep the jello from seeping under the cream cheese & making the crust soggy). It's also helpful to chill the cream cheese really well before topping w/ the jello. Sometimes I like to add an 8 oz. can of crushed pineapple in w/ the strawberries (Paula Deen's version)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
627 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
A hit every time I make it! Do not try to substitute low fat cream cheese or cool whip... the white layer just won't come together as nicely. I learned the hard way. Multiple times. Make sure to spread the white layer all the way to the edges and get a nice seal so that the jello layer doesn't seep into the bottom. In the spring and early summer, when strawberries are in season around here, I also slice some fresh berries into the jello for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hickory, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
I love this recipe but found it much better if after the jello is all disolved I add 4 ice cubes until melted then add an 8 oz tub of whipped cream to the jello mixture and mix til smooth then adding the strawberries after. It stays more firm and has a wonderful creamy taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNA EVERHART

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2001
I wasn't sure how fine to crush the pretzels...I opted for somewhere around coarse, but it wasn't right. Next time, I'll crush more. Nonetheless, my guests enjoyed this wierd dessert and one person even asked for the recipe -- and knowing the tough crowd I prepared this for, that is the highest compliment! I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBONO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was really fun to make. I only added just a little vanilla to the cream cheese/whipped topping layer. Other than that, I made no changes. I did follow other reviewer's suggestions and chill the layers in-between layering. Made for an easier time of layering. I also made sure to go right to the edges with the cream cheese layer to keep from the jello layer from seeping through and making the "crust" soggy. Fun! EDITED NEXT DAY: I LOVED the top and bottom layers. They were wonderful together. The bottom layer was.....just not right for this dessert. If I were to make this again, I'd double a recipe for graham cracker crust and use that instead of the pretzels. It just wasn't good. EDITED AGAIN A WEEK LATER: I made this again today with a crust made from Lorna Doone cookies. I just followed the same recipe, only using two sleeves of crushed Lorna Doone cookies. Much better. EDITED YET AGAIN: I made the top layer today with Blackberry Fusion Jello and this summer's blackberries. Fabulous. Not as overpoweringly sweet as the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Love this recipe & I get requests for it all the time. Make sure to spread the cream cheese mixture all the way to the edges - it keeps the jello from making the crust mushy. Thanks Betty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYFAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Also good with Raspberry gelatin and use frozen raspberries....not in juice, just frozen. I also use 1/2 cup of powdered sugar rather than 1 cup of sugar....it's plenty sweet. The cream cheese layer does need to be chilled for about 45-60 minutes and I chill the gelatin for about 40 minutes then add the frozen berries....pour that onto the cheese layer. It is a great potluck recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
SOME TIPS: This is an easy recipe to follow, but I can understand why people are having a problem with the layers. Thru my experience, this is what I did and didnt seem to have a problem with any of the layers seeping thru. FIRST-COOL THE CRUST COMPLETELY!! SECOND-CREAM THE SUGAR AND CREAM CHEESE THOROUGHLY! SPREAD ON PRETZEL MIXTURE AND REFRIGERATE AT LEAST 30-45 MINUTES. PREPARE JELLO AS DIRECTED BY DISSOLVING COMPLETELY FOR TWO MINUTES AND ADD FROZEN, SLICED STRAWBERRIES. LET SIT FOR ABOUT 5 MINUTES STIRRING FREQUENTLY DURING THOSE FIVE MINUTES UNTIL IT IS LIKE A JELLIED, SOFT TEXTURE. I USED A METAL WHISK TO ACCOMPLISH THIS. POUR OVER REFRIGERATED CREAM CHEESE LAYER. REFRIGERATE UNTIL SET, ABOUT A COUPLE OF HOURS. HOPE THIS HELPS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly, except that I mixed up the jello, boiling water and frozen strawberries and let it sit at room tempeature for 30 minutes while the crust and cream cheese layer chilled. Then I let the whole dessert chill overnight. I also only baked the crust for 8 minutes. This is a very tasty recipe and people absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This is a great recipe, it turned out perfect. A word to the wise, however--I needed my 9x13" pan for dinner, so I thought I'd try to use a 7x11" pan for the pretzel salad instead. That was a mistake--I ended up having to leave out some of the delicious strawberry topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICYBLUEROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States