Strawberry Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made this yesterday, and it's even better the next day! The pretzel crust and the cream cheese layer I made almost exactly as the recipe states -- the only difference is that I doubled the cream cheese layer because my baking dish was a bit taller. I used mini pretzels that didn't seem to be quite as salty as regular-sized pretzels, so I felt like I didn't get quite the contrast between sweet and salty as when I've tried this dish in the past. Really, the Jell-O layer is where you can put your own spin on this: I used a bag of frozen strawberries (thawed) and a can of crushed pineapple and I boiled the strawberry liquid along with the liquid from crushed pineapple to go in the gelatin. Also used one strawberry and one cherry Jell-O, which really gave it more of a "tart/sweet" flavor. In the end, i'm glad I doubled the cream cheese layer, because the gelatin layer ended up being intensely concentrated, and I believe the larger cream cheese layer balanced that fruity flavor nicely. I also pureed half of the strawberries to give a better overall texture, and placed the fruit in a bowl in the freezer to help it "gel" the gelatin quicker. I might be in the minority here, but in the past I've had this with the pretzel layer "soggy," and didn't really mind it. But again, that's a personal observation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Osowoofy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My mother-in-law made this and it is fantastic! She used cherry Jell-O instead of strawberry and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
LOVE this recipe...this Christmas I didn't have enough frozen strawberries for the double batch...so I mixed in some frozen blueberries...I think it will work! Merry Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamelaK
Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This is always a hit. We owned a restaurant for several years. Every Friday this was on the menu. I have made it 'quick' many times. I always let the jello get thick before putting it on. Yes, the crust will sometimes get soggy but we rarely had any left for Saturday serving. I read the one review that said they did not like the pretzels. I can't imagine! That is what makes it a taste sensation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
For those who found the jello layer to be runny ... The recipe I have only calls for 1cup of hot water for the jello layer and then add the frozen strawberries when the jello begins to set. And of course refrigerate between layers. The rest of the recipe was the same. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Super simple and tasty. I use fat free cream cheese and fat free cool whip and it comes out just fine (sorry, Paula Deen). I add pineapple but that's a personal choice. Also add some vanilla and brown sugar to the pretzel layer for the same reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This recipe is always a winner! Everyone loves Strawberry pretzel salad! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksmemoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
A favorite at church potluck! I never have any left when it's time to leave. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I have made this recipe many, many times and never had a problem till today. Everyone loves this dessert and I'm expected to bring it to every family gathering! However, today, I burned the crust. I think from now on I'll heat the oven to 350 and leave it in for only 8 min. I also tried something new, as I'm making two today. I am using peach jello with frozen, sliced peaches. I'm hoping this will taste as good as the strawberry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I fixed this as a dessert for my son's wedding rehearsal dinner. Everyone loved it!!! I also used peach jello with fresh peaches and it was delicious as well. This is a great summer dessert when you want something on the lighter side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States