Strawberry Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I've been making this for years. It has become my requested dish for extended family gatherings. I have added a third box of jello without increasing the liquid to help the jello set. My hint for spreading the white layer is to use 2 spoons to spread & a lot of patience! Also,once the crust is baked, you can transfer it to smaller containers or nonbakeware to finish jello. The smaller containers help it last longer, as it only gets soggy after initial serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
The dish was very pretty. However, when I tried to cut pieces to serve, it was impossible to cut through the pretzel crust layer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
UM, UM, UM, -- Wonderful for the sweet/salty tooth lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurora Leveroni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Just wonderful. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Love this recipe, it is always so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
A cool dessert for the summer. I'm going to use Splenda in place of the sugar. I'll let you know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I make this jello salad all the time.... In my crust....I also add 1 cup ground fine walnuts.... It gives it a good taste....Gloria
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I love pretzel jello. This was something my mom made every holiday and has lots of fond memories attached to it. With this particular recipe there are just a couple problems. First there isn't enough pretzel crust. You need 3 cups of pretzels so that the crust isn't too thin and hits all the spots. When you add the extra cup of pretzels don't increase the butter. There was too much. And as for the delicious white, middle layer. Yummy! But there is far too much! If I had put it all in the pan there would have been no room to pour the jello on top. So cut the recipe for the white stuff in half. The awesome thing about this recipe is you can do it up anyway you like. Try lemon jello and raspberries. Super pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Foley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I've made a recipe very similar to this for several years. This version is easier to make with less waiting time in between layers. My family LOVES it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made this yesterday, and it's even better the next day! The pretzel crust and the cream cheese layer I made almost exactly as the recipe states -- the only difference is that I doubled the cream cheese layer because my baking dish was a bit taller. I used mini pretzels that didn't seem to be quite as salty as regular-sized pretzels, so I felt like I didn't get quite the contrast between sweet and salty as when I've tried this dish in the past. Really, the Jell-O layer is where you can put your own spin on this: I used a bag of frozen strawberries (thawed) and a can of crushed pineapple and I boiled the strawberry liquid along with the liquid from crushed pineapple to go in the gelatin. Also used one strawberry and one cherry Jell-O, which really gave it more of a "tart/sweet" flavor. In the end, i'm glad I doubled the cream cheese layer, because the gelatin layer ended up being intensely concentrated, and I believe the larger cream cheese layer balanced that fruity flavor nicely. I also pureed half of the strawberries to give a better overall texture, and placed the fruit in a bowl in the freezer to help it "gel" the gelatin quicker. I might be in the minority here, but in the past I've had this with the pretzel layer "soggy," and didn't really mind it. But again, that's a personal observation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Osowoofy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States