Strawberry Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I love pretzel jello. This was something my mom made every holiday and has lots of fond memories attached to it. With this particular recipe there are just a couple problems. First there isn't enough pretzel crust. You need 3 cups of pretzels so that the crust isn't too thin and hits all the spots. When you add the extra cup of pretzels don't increase the butter. There was too much. And as for the delicious white, middle layer. Yummy! But there is far too much! If I had put it all in the pan there would have been no room to pour the jello on top. So cut the recipe for the white stuff in half. The awesome thing about this recipe is you can do it up anyway you like. Try lemon jello and raspberries. Super pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I've made a recipe very similar to this for several years. This version is easier to make with less waiting time in between layers. My family LOVES it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made this yesterday, and it's even better the next day! The pretzel crust and the cream cheese layer I made almost exactly as the recipe states -- the only difference is that I doubled the cream cheese layer because my baking dish was a bit taller. I used mini pretzels that didn't seem to be quite as salty as regular-sized pretzels, so I felt like I didn't get quite the contrast between sweet and salty as when I've tried this dish in the past. Really, the Jell-O layer is where you can put your own spin on this: I used a bag of frozen strawberries (thawed) and a can of crushed pineapple and I boiled the strawberry liquid along with the liquid from crushed pineapple to go in the gelatin. Also used one strawberry and one cherry Jell-O, which really gave it more of a "tart/sweet" flavor. In the end, i'm glad I doubled the cream cheese layer, because the gelatin layer ended up being intensely concentrated, and I believe the larger cream cheese layer balanced that fruity flavor nicely. I also pureed half of the strawberries to give a better overall texture, and placed the fruit in a bowl in the freezer to help it "gel" the gelatin quicker. I might be in the minority here, but in the past I've had this with the pretzel layer "soggy," and didn't really mind it. But again, that's a personal observation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My mother-in-law made this and it is fantastic! She used cherry Jell-O instead of strawberry and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
LOVE this recipe...this Christmas I didn't have enough frozen strawberries for the double batch...so I mixed in some frozen blueberries...I think it will work! Merry Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamelaK
Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This is always a hit. We owned a restaurant for several years. Every Friday this was on the menu. I have made it 'quick' many times. I always let the jello get thick before putting it on. Yes, the crust will sometimes get soggy but we rarely had any left for Saturday serving. I read the one review that said they did not like the pretzels. I can't imagine! That is what makes it a taste sensation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
For those who found the jello layer to be runny ... The recipe I have only calls for 1cup of hot water for the jello layer and then add the frozen strawberries when the jello begins to set. And of course refrigerate between layers. The rest of the recipe was the same. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Super simple and tasty. I use fat free cream cheese and fat free cool whip and it comes out just fine (sorry, Paula Deen). I add pineapple but that's a personal choice. Also add some vanilla and brown sugar to the pretzel layer for the same reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This recipe is always a winner! Everyone loves Strawberry pretzel salad! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksmemoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
A favorite at church potluck! I never have any left when it's time to leave. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States