Strawberry Preserves I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
YUM!!! My husband cant stop eating it!!! We are about to make Rosenmunnar Cookies with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
Stephanie thank you so much for adding this recipe to all recipes. All the other recipes I had would have taken a day to do because they called for the mixter to sit 12 to 24 hours, and with a 2 year old I wanted to get in and out of the kitchen as quickly has possible. AND THIS RECIPE MADE IT POSSIBLE, I thank you! I made the preserves today and tasted a strawberry I had lefted in the pot and it was great! Thank you again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
Help!What did I do wrong? My perserves didn't set. Can you give me suggestions that will prevent this next time I make this reciepe. Thanks. I think I may not of got it hot enough. Would that do it? I'm going to use the jars I made as topping for sundae's. Tastes Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I've never made preserves before, because I don't know how to can. However, I had a 1/2 flat of strawberries on my hands so I decided to try making preserves. This was the recipe with which to start. Absolutely delicious. Easy to follow and full of flavor, this recipe tastes like my grandmother's homemade preserves. What a treat! The only change I made was pulsing the berries in the food processor briefly, prior to cooking. I did so that my 14 month old could enjoy the preserves, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesDiner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I have never made jam before and this came out so perfect. Tasted great and was so easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
My sister and I had never done this before, but recieved a case of ripe strawberries and had to do something with them. It tastes fabulous and was easy to make! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I made this recipe exactly, and it jelled perfectly. Can't complain at all! I think you just have to make sure that it hits that 220 degree mark. Turned out 4 and a half 8 oz jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Delicious! I only had 1/2 lb strawberries, so quartered the recipe--worked great. Really had to turn up the heat and let it bubble for a while to get it to reach 220. The poor reviewers clearly did something wrong, as I followed the recipe to the T and am enjoying delicious preserves on some fresh-baked bread for breakfast. Can't be beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I've used it for 30 years except I use 5 teaspoons of lemon juice rather than vinegar. For those of you who are having trouble getting your preserves to set - try a larger pot. If you aren't boiling your preserves "hard" enough they will not set. NEVER double the recipe and use a large pot rather than a pan. The preserves must be a rolling boil so that they reach 220 degrees and don't stir them often. This recipe was given to me 30 years ago by a lady who was 75 and had been given this recipe by her mother. It works, you just have to have patience and learn how to recognize the signs that the preserves are setting. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maliforte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States