Strawberry Preserves I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I've used it for 30 years except I use 5 teaspoons of lemon juice rather than vinegar. For those of you who are having trouble getting your preserves to set - try a larger pot. If you aren't boiling your preserves "hard" enough they will not set. NEVER double the recipe and use a large pot rather than a pan. The preserves must be a rolling boil so that they reach 220 degrees and don't stir them often. This recipe was given to me 30 years ago by a lady who was 75 and had been given this recipe by her mother. It works, you just have to have patience and learn how to recognize the signs that the preserves are setting. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maliforte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
Help!What did I do wrong? My perserves didn't set. Can you give me suggestions that will prevent this next time I make this reciepe. Thanks. I think I may not of got it hot enough. Would that do it? I'm going to use the jars I made as topping for sundae's. Tastes Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I've never made preserves before, because I don't know how to can. However, I had a 1/2 flat of strawberries on my hands so I decided to try making preserves. This was the recipe with which to start. Absolutely delicious. Easy to follow and full of flavor, this recipe tastes like my grandmother's homemade preserves. What a treat! The only change I made was pulsing the berries in the food processor briefly, prior to cooking. I did so that my 14 month old could enjoy the preserves, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesDiner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
I don't know what I did wrong. I used 2 lbs of Strawberries I picked up at a U-Pick farm and followed the direction to a T and I ended up with thick strawberry goop. It is two thick to use on toast or sandwichs and doesn't taste like strawberry preserves at all. I am now looking for a new recipie to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
Stephanie thank you so much for adding this recipe to all recipes. All the other recipes I had would have taken a day to do because they called for the mixter to sit 12 to 24 hours, and with a 2 year old I wanted to get in and out of the kitchen as quickly has possible. AND THIS RECIPE MADE IT POSSIBLE, I thank you! I made the preserves today and tasted a strawberry I had lefted in the pot and it was great! Thank you again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
I now have 14 4oz jars of strawberry ice cream topping! I let the stuff cook for 40 minutes and I could not get it to reach past 205 degrees on my themometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALFFINGR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
I used apple cider vinegar because...well, why not? The preserves taste delicious, however it did not jell to quite the stiffness I would prefer. Actually, it took a LONG time for the mixture to thicken at all. Better consistency when chilled overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I have never made jam before and this came out so perfect. Tasted great and was so easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
this is a quick and easy recipe. I can go to the market for fresh strawberries and have jelly made two hours later. I have some problem getting it to set to jelly. 3 out of four tries I had to take from jars and set back over the heat, bring to boil and put back into clean jars, maybe this is because I live at a higher elevation and I like to put less sugar than is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States