Strawberry Preserves I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
So I definitely give this 5 stars! It takes superb! A couple of important things: 1. Make sure you get it to 220°! That's a must! I put a plate in the freezer and when we tried the first batch, we did the plate test (101 canning) and put a little of the preserve on the plate, waited a minute and if it smeared and didn't run back together, it was done. 2. Follow the recipe! We didn't use vinegar, but Lemon juice and it came out awesome! I'd read some of the other reviews and preferred Lemon juice. Very pleased with the results, just don't let it boil over. Scraping carmelized sugar off your stove top sucks!!! LOL Use Lemon Juice to help break down the sugar, takes a while but it works. Will definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
tried this yesterday. It came out too hard to spread. Very very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I had the same problem as a couple of others. The preserves didn't set. They are the consistency of syrup. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I follow the cooking instructions to a T and this recipe is always a big hit. I use Apple Cider Vinegar, though, and it works great. Everyone wants a jar when I am done, so I always double it when the strawberries are in season and on sale. Super excellent on PB & J's, so my kids say. I prefer it on biscuits, myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I tried this recipe and it tastes great. However, the next time I make it I will crush the berries because they floated to the top of the jars and did not congeal. As a result, I have strawberries floating around in the top of the jar and jelly at the bottom. Go figure! haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammyPieya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duquesne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Delicious!!! but let me tell you, I change the white sugar by brown but little less, also I use frozen strawberry of first quality and i put lemon!.. Thank You for share this recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edgar DQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I tried this recipe for the first time and had great luck. I had always used surejell and I did not like the texture it felt to rubbery. But this recipe worked great. I did substitute lemon juice for the the vinegar and I loved the taste. It took me awhile to figure out how to get it to set but once I learned it was easy. We use it on ice cream, cakes and bread of course. My family loves it and I will always use this recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I never made preserves/jelly/jam before. Can any of the sugar be substituted with honey and still come out right? any help is appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Great jam - and very easy! Followed recipe as it is except I used Raspberry Vinegar. I halved the recipe which I think really helped since there was no chance of boiling over and it didn't even take the full 20 min. I had the stove on full high heat the entire time. You can tell its done when it completely covers a metal spoon when dipped in and removed and as another reviewer put it "hmmm, this looks like jelly." Another reviewer had mentioned using a really big pot and I think that helped a lot too. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States