Strawberry Preserves I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Made this recipe this morning. Was easy and tasted very good. Not sure if it will set up to jam when cooled looks promising but we love syrup almost more than jam so would be ok anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong. I read all the comments and followed the recipe but it never quite got to 220 and then it burned. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Camelle2173
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
What a fantastic recipe. I had about a pound of strawberries that were "hidden" in the back of the fridge. They weren't "bad" but just not "great" to eat fresh. This was the PERFECT use for them. I halved the sugar (since I only had about a pound of strawberries) as well as the vinegar and salt. Cooked and stirred for 15 minutes. Used my thermometer it got to 220 just as I was thinking "hmmm...this looks like jelly". Can't wait for it to cool a bit and have it on an english muffin. Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This is an excellent recipe! I couldn't get my preserves to get to 220 degrees so I used my stick mixer after they boiled for about 30 minutes. That made the preserves the PERFECT consistency! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Armstrong

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Here's a few TIPS!! I tried this recipe for the 1st time day 5/26/10, which I have never made preserves before. I purchased 6 qt of very ripe strawberries from a local farmer. I followed the recipe to a T, I thought!! Well, IT WOULD NOT SET! After I had jared it and let it cool down (about 2 hrs), I could tell right then. I reopened the jars, return to pot and recooked. Basically, I started the process over. Tip#1 - Have a thermometer. Tip#2 - Keep it at a Rolling Boil for the FULL 15-20 mins. Tip#3 - Stir and Stir ans Stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
well i didnt have a scale so i used to much sugar but it worked out. i dont actually like strawberry preserves but the kids ate it up even though they said it was too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebony
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
overly cooked flavor. will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
YUM!!! My husband cant stop eating it!!! We are about to make Rosenmunnar Cookies with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT-LYNN'sCookin!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I've used it for 30 years except I use 5 teaspoons of lemon juice rather than vinegar. For those of you who are having trouble getting your preserves to set - try a larger pot. If you aren't boiling your preserves "hard" enough they will not set. NEVER double the recipe and use a large pot rather than a pan. The preserves must be a rolling boil so that they reach 220 degrees and don't stir them often. This recipe was given to me 30 years ago by a lady who was 75 and had been given this recipe by her mother. It works, you just have to have patience and learn how to recognize the signs that the preserves are setting. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maliforte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Delicious! I only had 1/2 lb strawberries, so quartered the recipe--worked great. Really had to turn up the heat and let it bubble for a while to get it to reach 220. The poor reviewers clearly did something wrong, as I followed the recipe to the T and am enjoying delicious preserves on some fresh-baked bread for breakfast. Can't be beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States