Strawberry Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2002
I followed the basic recipe but substitued one cup of chopped frozen strawberries for the ice cubes. I also used fresh whipped cream and added a generous squeeze from a lemon as well as an additional cup of strawberries. Exactly what we were looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
I made this using a chocolate graham cracker crust and it was terrific! This was even after being interrupted several times, once for hours. The jello set up before the Cool Whip thawed, so I had to microwave the jello back to a liquid state. Then the time waiting for the mixture to mound was longer than intended. So, even tho it looks a bit strange because of that, it goes to show you that you can really mess it up and it will still turn out to be a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This is a really fresh and light dessert. The only change I would suggest is to add additional whipped topping on the top before serving. Once it sets up it needs something on top to make it look "finished". Otherwise a five star recipe! One more hint... make your own graham cracker crust. It just tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
This is THE best strawberry pie I've ever had. My family has been making this pie for I don't know how many years, but we always called it Light and Fruity Pie. Mmmmmmm!!!! Absolute heaven! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was so good! I took someone else's advice, froze a bunch of chopped strawberries and used them instead of ice, because I wanted the strawberry flavor to pop. My fantastic-cook-of-a-neighbor thought it was awesome. It's rare that I have a recipe good enough to share, but she wanted this one! I do wish I had made my own graham cracker crust. The ones at the store just don't taste good with a decent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I wasn't sure I was going to like this when I mixed the jello and cool whip, it may have been my fault for not letting the jello cool and thicken enough because it looked a little funky. BUT much to my suprise and the delight of DH and my kids, it was FANTASTIC. Light, creamy, and cool. I may add more berries next time but it was a really wonderful treat and between the two adults and three kids, there are no leftovers. I love how simple it is too, I was able to let my girls, 6 and 4, help quite a bit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This pie tasted wonderful, and was a hit at my house. This is a keeper for the recipe box. Instead of making it with sliced strawberries, I cut the berries into cubes and mixed them in with the filling. The effect was a bit of fresh strawberry in every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
To cut calories use sliced strawberries to form the crust. Try other flavors of Jello fpor a variation- Strawberry Kiwi with Kiwi on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Millinocket, Maine, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
What a terrific, light pie! I used strawberry/banana jello sweetened with Splenda and Splenda-sweetened whipped topping as well. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I'm rating 4 stars because doubling the strawberries will make it 5 stars. I also used frozen and chopped strawberries in place of the ice cubes. I brought this to a ribs/corn cobb dinner I was invited too and it was a hit! Even among my husband who said he wasn't really fond of this type of dessert. Easy and refreshing summer dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States