Strawberry Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This is a great, light dessert! You can eat a big piece and feel like you haven't had anything. I never change up recipes, but I did use low calorie jell-o and light whipped topping. Guiltless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cassville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I've been using this recipe for years and is very quick, easy and delicious. It's known as the Shoney's Strawberry Pie at my house because it is SOOO very close to the pie that Shoney's restaurant serves. I use less water, cornstarch, and sugar than listed here. I do recommend having your water boiling and slowly STIR in the sugar and cornstarch (that you have already measured out and mixed together) otherwise the cornstarch can lump up like lard in the water and become insoluble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This was so yummy. I used 1 cup water, 1 cup sugar, 3 T cornstarch and the sugar free black cherry jello and graham cracker crust. It really was a good blend of tart and sweet and was very refreshing. Very easy and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This recipe is good.I made it at home and it was delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiara10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Tasted pretty good. It was very sweet. I wish the sauce would have held together a little bit more solid, but the pieces didn't fall apart when I cut it like it has with other recipes. I stirred the glaze into the berries and poured some on top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This is similar to my grandmother's recipe. It is requested often. The only variations are less water (1 cup), more cornstarch (3 Tbsp) plus the addition of 2 Tbsp light karo syrup. This is the only strawberry pie my family makes. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Soooo delicious!!! I made this pie in 5 minutes flat. I reduced the sugar by using a 0.6 ounce package of sugar free jello instead of a 3 ounce jello package. Also, the jello was blackcherry, not strawberry, which gave it a VERY FRESH taste. I'll definitely be making this extremely quick and yummy pie again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jabaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
My boyfriend's mom made this for dinner last week, so I got the recipe and made it for a picnic with a group this weekend. Everyone loves it. I used a graham cracker crust--it was super easy and tasted great. I also used sugar-free jell-o. I didn't add sugar, and I'm not sure that it needs any. Though, if the strawberries aren't particularly sweet, the extra sugar might help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
This has replaced my usual recipe it is so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Super delicious! I've made it twice in one week. The glaze is just firm enough not to be runny but isn't unnaturally firm. For a single pie use 1-1/2 cups water, 1-1/4 cups sugar, 3 tablespoons cornstarch and 3 tablespoons Jell-O powder. Also, add 1/4 teaspoon of salt and a couple of tablespoons of lemon juice (this really adds fresh flavor). Quarter the berries to get more glaze flavor mixed through, especially if the berries aren't the ripest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States