Strawberry Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I had high hopes for this pie! I sliced my strawberries instead of leaving them whole. The glaze mix looked firm enough...but after several hours of chilling, I had strawberry pie SOUP! The pie was firmer the next day, but then the crust was soggy and the berries were soft. I don't know if it was slicing the berries that did it or if it was the 2 cups of sugar?? It was VERY sweet and almost tasted medicinal. I took another reviewer's suggestion and added lemon juice, which really helped to tone down the sweetness. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made this and had everyone asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bleu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe worked very nicely with frozen strawberries. I just defrosted and drained my strawberries really well before I put them into the crusts. The recipe made enough glaze for 3 pies... easily. The glaze set up really well and everybody in my family was amazed that "the pie didn't run". Will be making it again... and again... and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Everyone thought this pie was good (strawberry pie is hard to beat). Being my own worst critic, I thought the glaze jelled a little to much so I might have cooked it to long? I probably decreased the sugar to much fearing it would be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Very, very good! I thawed out some strawberries i'd frozen in the beginning of the summer for the filling and used peach jello in place of the strawberry. I then placed everything into the Easy Pie Crust recipe from this site. The resulting pie was amazing, and everyone, even my dad who doesn't like strawberries, thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I don't care much for strawberries but they are my husband's favorite. I was surprised that even I liked this pie. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyLakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Everyone liked this. I subbed plain flour in the place of cornstarch -- worked fine. Easy pie, but I guess I expected better flavour. I had to halve the ingredients and because we can't stand really sweet foods I only used 2 tblspn of sugar plus jelly. Dh and kids said they wouldn't want it any sweeter, so if you're not a fan of too much sugar keep that in mind. Dh did make a request for a little layer of caramel next time. Overall, a keeper but I will play with it. Maybe using real strawberry syrup instead of water?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Loved this! The perfect pie for a summer night. I only made one pie (later wished I had made a second!). To do so, I halved all the measurements. I ended up having more than enough. I know another reviewer gave different measurements for one pie, but I think it would be too much of the liquid. However, I did add a little lemon juice and salt as that reviewer suggested and quartered the strawberries. Excellent recipe with a beautiful presentation...just bought more strawberries to make another one tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North East, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Very good and easy. I added a thin layer of custard at the bottom, lined with strawberries cut in half and covered in glaze. I made the glaze recipe for 1 pie as listed by another reviewer. It still made ALOT. I only used half of it. Gave enough strawberry flavor and sweet, but if I used the whole thing, it would have been too goopy and sweet. I topped each serving with a little whipped cream. Yummy! (If you want to add a layer of custard, mix 1 T. sugar, 1 T. cornstarch, pinch of salt, 1 beaten egg yolk, 1 c. milk, half'n half or cream and heat, stirring constantly until thickens. Take off burner, add 1 t. vanilla. Let cool slightly, spread into bottom of pie crust. Let cool completely before adding strawberries.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Easy, excellent recipe. I had very large strawberries, so I quartered them, other than that I didn't change a thing. Everyone said it was the best strawberry pie they had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States