Strawberry Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Very, very good! I thawed out some strawberries i'd frozen in the beginning of the summer for the filling and used peach jello in place of the strawberry. I then placed everything into the Easy Pie Crust recipe from this site. The resulting pie was amazing, and everyone, even my dad who doesn't like strawberries, thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I don't care much for strawberries but they are my husband's favorite. I was surprised that even I liked this pie. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyLakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Everyone liked this. I subbed plain flour in the place of cornstarch -- worked fine. Easy pie, but I guess I expected better flavour. I had to halve the ingredients and because we can't stand really sweet foods I only used 2 tblspn of sugar plus jelly. Dh and kids said they wouldn't want it any sweeter, so if you're not a fan of too much sugar keep that in mind. Dh did make a request for a little layer of caramel next time. Overall, a keeper but I will play with it. Maybe using real strawberry syrup instead of water?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Loved this! The perfect pie for a summer night. I only made one pie (later wished I had made a second!). To do so, I halved all the measurements. I ended up having more than enough. I know another reviewer gave different measurements for one pie, but I think it would be too much of the liquid. However, I did add a little lemon juice and salt as that reviewer suggested and quartered the strawberries. Excellent recipe with a beautiful presentation...just bought more strawberries to make another one tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North East, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Very good and easy. I added a thin layer of custard at the bottom, lined with strawberries cut in half and covered in glaze. I made the glaze recipe for 1 pie as listed by another reviewer. It still made ALOT. I only used half of it. Gave enough strawberry flavor and sweet, but if I used the whole thing, it would have been too goopy and sweet. I topped each serving with a little whipped cream. Yummy! (If you want to add a layer of custard, mix 1 T. sugar, 1 T. cornstarch, pinch of salt, 1 beaten egg yolk, 1 c. milk, half'n half or cream and heat, stirring constantly until thickens. Take off burner, add 1 t. vanilla. Let cool slightly, spread into bottom of pie crust. Let cool completely before adding strawberries.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Easy, excellent recipe. I had very large strawberries, so I quartered them, other than that I didn't change a thing. Everyone said it was the best strawberry pie they had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Follow the recipe exactly and it will turn out great! Although next time I might try adding a top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This was pretty good. I did find it a little too sweet, so if I make it again, I will decrease the amount of white sugar. The sugar in the Jello more than adequately will cover it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
i know that this could be a five star recipe. i attempted to reduce calories by using splenda and sugar free jello. i do not recommend! somehow the splenda left a bitter aftertaste. next time i will indulge and follow recipe precisely. it is a pretty dessert and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Beach, California, USA
Living In: South Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This is a great, light dessert! You can eat a big piece and feel like you haven't had anything. I never change up recipes, but I did use low calorie jell-o and light whipped topping. Guiltless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cassville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States