Strawberry Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I made this as the dessert for a cookout party we had and it was a success but I will make some changes the next time I make it... Firstly, I only used 1 cup of sugar since many reviewers talked about how sweet the original recipe was and 1 cup was not quite enough. Next time I make it I will try using 1 1/2 cups to see if that is adequate. Secondly, I used 5 tblsp cornstarch and the filling/glaze congealed too much as it chilled and became a gel. I think the 3 tblsp would have been enough. I'm getting ready to remake the pies with my suggested changes and we'll see how that goes. All in all, though, it was still darned good and I would serve it again - I just think these changes would make it superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Yummy! Next time I will cut the strawberries in fourths. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Perhaps I did something wrong or just thought this would be something that it was notit just was not very appetizing ...but on a positive note it was very pretty to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Very good pie recipe. I did add an extra tsp. cornstarch. I did not have a problem with the filling being runny. My family and friends gobbled down and I made two pies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
BOMB!!!! Will be making this one again for sure but might try and make the gelatin sauce a little less firm. I used tbsp. of lemon juice and also used tropical flavored jello since strawberry flavor is not my favorite. Worth making for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I had high hopes for this pie! I sliced my strawberries instead of leaving them whole. The glaze mix looked firm enough...but after several hours of chilling, I had strawberry pie SOUP! The pie was firmer the next day, but then the crust was soggy and the berries were soft. I don't know if it was slicing the berries that did it or if it was the 2 cups of sugar?? It was VERY sweet and almost tasted medicinal. I took another reviewer's suggestion and added lemon juice, which really helped to tone down the sweetness. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made this and had everyone asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bleu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe worked very nicely with frozen strawberries. I just defrosted and drained my strawberries really well before I put them into the crusts. The recipe made enough glaze for 3 pies... easily. The glaze set up really well and everybody in my family was amazed that "the pie didn't run". Will be making it again... and again... and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Everyone thought this pie was good (strawberry pie is hard to beat). Being my own worst critic, I thought the glaze jelled a little to much so I might have cooked it to long? I probably decreased the sugar to much fearing it would be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Very, very good! I thawed out some strawberries i'd frozen in the beginning of the summer for the filling and used peach jello in place of the strawberry. I then placed everything into the Easy Pie Crust recipe from this site. The resulting pie was amazing, and everyone, even my dad who doesn't like strawberries, thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States