Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I made this exactly as recipe submitted. Made a shortbread type of crust which I baked and cooled. The filling was superb. Actually halved the recipe and made a 4" pie. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Very good easy to put together recipe. I too added some extra stawberries to the glaze portion, it was really tasty; a pleasant change from the artificial packaged glazes. I also like the fact that one doesn't add red dye, that is just wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I followed the recipe but accidentally used only 3 teaspoons of corn starch instead of 3 tablespoons as called for, and added a little lemon juice for more flavor. It worked out great. The glaze was a nice translucent red color. I tried to follow the exact recipe (3T corn starch) with added lemon the same as before but wound up with pink glaze. Think I will stick with the 3 teaspoons next time or try some suggestions of the other reviewers to get the nice rich red colored glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
delicious strawberry topping, but the whole pie was a mess. My kids said that Gordon Ramsey would be disgusted at the sight of it, would then taste it and say how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Like others, I reduced the sugar to just less than 3/4 cup and water to about a 1/2 cup. I went to the local farm and got fresh picked berries, the juice from mashing them allowed me to reduce the water. I squeezed a little fresh lemon juice while they were cooking - also, I didn't read the whole recipe first and I just dumped the sugar, water, cornstarch and mashed berries all together and cooked the whole thing for 9 minutes at a full boil on medium heat. The reviewer that said it should coat a spoon was correct. Also, you must time the cooking - if the berries don't look like a clear glazed appearance, they're not done! That should help those who ended up with a soupy result. Also, like another reviewer said, don't bother making this unless you get yourself the freshest, reddest, juiciest berries. You will have a much more pleasing result, seriously! We are lucky to have a farm nearby and we freeze berries individually for shortcake throughout the year but nothing is better than fresh strawberries. This recipe is for the purists - no strawberry jello needed. Now I just need to learn to make a 'real' pie crust from scratch and I'll be set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Cherrette MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Don't skimp on the cornstarch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Tastes good, a little on the sweet side, but more than that I wish it got firmer. Definitely easy and few ingredients, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I ended up with a ton of strawberries from the farmer's market after my 3 year-old sampled a strawberry and put the top back in the container (yuck!) after we had already bought a quart of strawberries. I came across this recipe when trying to find something to do with two quarts of strawberries. The only ingredient we had to buy was the pie crust, and the recipe was so easy that my 3 year-old helped me out in the kitchen. After reading the reviews, we also reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup, which worked perfectly. I highly recommend this recipe, especially now during farmer's market season when strawberries are abundant. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Really nice & simple. I used 4 cups of strawberries. I mashed about 1 cup of these to make the "sauce". I followed other folks suggestions & used 1/2 cup water, 3/4 cup sugar & 3 Tbsp corn starch. I combined all the ingredients, brought them to a boil & simmered for 3-4 minutes - stirring constantly. I let it cool for a couple of minutes before drizzling over the strawberries in the crust. Topped with whipped cream - mmmmmmmm! If I was taking this pie to a potluck, I think I would increase the strawberries a bit more. The pie looks a little shallow without the whipped cream on it. Once you add the whipped cream, it does not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
It tasted good, but I couldn't get it to set up. This is the third recipe I've tried that uses cornstarch to thicken a pie, and it has never turned out. I think I must be doing something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 666) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States