Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
WOW!! We LOVE this!! We bought too many strawberries at the Farmer's Market so I searched for strawberry recipes and found this. I do not like most pies but absolutely LOVE this and my husband who loves pies LOVES it too. The only thing I did different because everyone was complaining it was too runny and the crust got soggy is change the amount of water to 1/3 cup and it was perfect! The crust did not get soggy. Also, you can brush egg whites on the crust before you cook it to keep it from getting soggy. I did this the first time I made it and forgot the next time. It made a difference with the egg whites but with only adding 1/3 cup water it still did not get too soggy without brushing on the egg whites. I have made 3 of these in the last week and will make a few more before strawberry season is over. We also liked it better without the whipped cream because it took a lot of the flavor away but that is just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This was amazing. I noticed that some people said they had strawberry soup, I think it is because they either didn't put enough cornstarch in the mix or didn't let it boil for ten minutes. The stirring is a little rough after that long but after sitting in the fridge for about 2 hours it set and was very tasteful. My kids loved it and my husband loved it and he doesn't really like strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blahs4life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
easy & good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
use less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I followed the directions to a T the first time I made this and it was horribly runny, even after chilling overnight. It never did set. It still tasted so good; I was determined to make it again and make it right. On the second attempt, I completely omitted the water. I just added the cornstarch to the mashed strawberries while they were on the stove. It turned out perfectly when done that way. The consistency was spot on. Without the unnecessary water ingredient, I would rate this a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I have never posted a review before, but had to weigh in on this pie. I made the recipe as written (only change was I reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup) and it was the most delicious pie I ever made! It set well after 2 hours in the fridge and was perfectly light and sweet. I made it as a surprise for my boyfriend, who is a passionate strawberry fan, and he raved about it like I'd never seen him rave before. I will be sure to make this pie again for any picnics or cookouts we are invited to for the rest of the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I grow my own strawberries in our garden, so this recipe turned out SO good. I will be making this all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I made this exactly as recipe submitted. Made a shortbread type of crust which I baked and cooled. The filling was superb. Actually halved the recipe and made a 4" pie. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Very good easy to put together recipe. I too added some extra stawberries to the glaze portion, it was really tasty; a pleasant change from the artificial packaged glazes. I also like the fact that one doesn't add red dye, that is just wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 664) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States