Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I loved this recipe. It was easy to make and really delicious. The only change I made was to paint the bottom of the pie shell with some melted chocolate, as another reviewer suggested. I must say that I didn't like the taste of the chocolate with the strawberries and that's saying something, as I am a real chocoholic. I will try painting the base with a little egg yolk next time. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
The only change I made was to sub in Stevia/sugar blend in place of the sugar, 1/2 cup for the equivalent of 1 cup of sugar. The pie turned out wonderfully but even my kid thought it was too sweet. Will cut down the sweetener next time. Mine set up pretty firmly in about 90 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Amazing. I use fresh berries and half the recommended sugar--otherwise it's too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
If you use FRESH FROM THE GARDEN STRAWBERRIES this will be a SOUPY MESS. That being said, you can turn this into cobbler very easily and it really is delicious. I used garden fresh strawberries and mashed about 3/4ths of them using the remaining 1/4th to line the bottom of the crust. Minutes after they begin to cook, you will realize how much water there will be. I only mixed 1/2 a cup of water with 3 tbsp of cornstarch and only used 3/4 a cup of sugar plus a heaping tablespoon of cinnamon - still too runny. This is apparently a big complaint with this recipe if you are using "real strawberries". Once I realized how soupy it was, I just made a basic cinnamon/sugar/flour/butter cobbler topping and put it on top. It was very good, just nothing like a set-pie consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This recipe is wonderful... It was hard to just sit back and wait for it to set / firm up. But it was well worth the wait! Highly recommend this for a delicious summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is very YUM! I have to say next time I make this I will have to cut down the sugar a little and add more strawberries to fill my pie crust better. Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masa Bamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Totally yummy! I agree that mashing 1/4 of the berries is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I made this strawberry pie with the same instructions except I added 1/2 cup of water instead of 3/4. But like other users have said It was too sweet (I am one of those people who enjoy extra sweet deserts usually, but this was too sweet even for me). Next time I will try it with 3/4 cup of sugar instead. Thanks for users who suggested to keep 3/4 of strawberries unmeshed instead of 1/2 as the recipe has suggested. Whip cream's taste sort of vanished with the strawberries. I am not putting it in good next time. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SusanHissam
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Wonderful! I didn't change a thing (unusual for me). Made homemade vanilla gelato to top it off! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This pie is amazing made exactly as directed. It seems like a throwback homemade recipe but is pretty simple and quick. I love it, my family loves it, my friends love it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 675) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States