Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Sabrina
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made this for my daughter who was begging for strawberry pie! I bought fresh organic strawberries from the farmer's market. It came out good, but I've had better at a pie shop where I'm from. It doesn't taste as fresh as I would like it. There was something about the jelly that wasn't perfect to me. Maybe it was the crust. I didn't like the taste of the crust because I used frozen store-bought ready-made crust. I would rather buy from our pie shop, but I would make this again to save $$. My daughter really likes it! Especially with Cool Whip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
surprisingly tasty and easy. I served with canned whipped cream. I think I would use a cookie crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This is hands down the easiest and most delicious strawberry pie I've ever had.... and the only one I've ever made. Quite impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Everyone loved this, but it is a tad on the overly sweet side. Next time I'll cut down on the sugar for sure. The only complaint that I heard was that the crust was too thin. I used a premade crust though so next time I'll either make my own thick crust or do a double crust on the bottom. Definitely make this the day ahead if you want it to set properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I'm not a fan of strawberry pie, but they were beautiful, fragrant, and on sale, so I had to get some. I tried this pie and it was super easy and really very tasty. I painted the inside of the crust with white chocolate, and it gives the crust a nice extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clare
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Delicious pie. I was not sure how much a quart of strawberries was, but I used two 1lb punnets, one for the base and one for the sauce, used about 3/4 cup of sugar and a splash of lemon juice for some zip. Sauce was thickened in about 3-4 minutes Would be even better with a home made sweet pastry crust. A delicious taste of summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This is the very best strawberry pie we have ever tasted. I've been making it for years to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
OMG! AMAZING! made this as recipe states...used fresh Ontario berries and mini tart shells as had no pie crust. Could have eaten them all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amjoy373

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Excellent pie. Immediate family favorite. I did use another reviewers suggestion and "painted" the cooked crust with melted chocolate. It was just the right touch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This pie was delicious and I will be making it again. It was beautiful to look at and really was tasty. I pretty much followed the recipe exactly except that I was making two 10 inch pies so I doubled all the ingredients except I used more strawberries & did follow one reviewers advice and (painted) the crust with melted chocolate. I had so many things going on that I made the pie crusts one evening and cleaned the strawberries and let them dry on paper towels in the fridge until the next day when I made the filling. I placed the whole strawberries in the chocolate coated pie shell and mixed the sugar & cornstarch together and added the water stirred and then added the strawberries which I pulsed in my food processor. Placed all in a pan and cooked over med high heat stirring constantly until it started to boil then let it simmer for 3 minutes. Let it cool for about 5 minutes and spooned over the whole strawberries.It was set up in severl hours but I did not serve the pies until the next day and the crust was still good and was not soggy at all. Received many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States