Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Very nice and easy pie to make. I made a crust earlier and when it was cool, brushed it with 2 squares of semi-sweet chocolate that I melted in the microwave. I popped it in the freezer to harden and prepared the strawberries. I used 3/4 c sugar as the recipe suggested for the glaze, but would use less next time. I used way more strawerries than in the recipe and did like other reviewers suggested and used less strawberries for the glaze and more for the pie -- a 3 to 1 ratio. I sliced the strawberries in half and placed them cut side down in the pie shell and piled them on top of each other. The glaze was pretty easy to make - the only thing I did was use my braun multi-practic to puree everything once it was cooked. I took this to a BBQ and everyone loved it. I think I will do this same thing with peaches as I think it would work well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIT123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
It was really good. I made with Pie Crust IV and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Pretty good. Instead of a traditional pie crust, I used a graham cracker crust and like one person suggested, I painted the inside of the crust with melted chocolate and let that set in the fridge before I filled it. It was a little bitter for me that way, because I like my chocolate to be really sweet and semi-sweet just doesn't cut it for me, but I imagine white chocolate would be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This pie is amazing!!! I have made it twice in one week. First time I used fresh strawberries only but the second time I decided to use fresh strawberries and frozen blueberries. Both times I made my own crust and I cut sugar down to 3/4 cup. We ate it with canned whipped cream. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEAMOSRU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sabrina
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made this for my daughter who was begging for strawberry pie! I bought fresh organic strawberries from the farmer's market. It came out good, but I've had better at a pie shop where I'm from. It doesn't taste as fresh as I would like it. There was something about the jelly that wasn't perfect to me. Maybe it was the crust. I didn't like the taste of the crust because I used frozen store-bought ready-made crust. I would rather buy from our pie shop, but I would make this again to save $$. My daughter really likes it! Especially with Cool Whip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
surprisingly tasty and easy. I served with canned whipped cream. I think I would use a cookie crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This is hands down the easiest and most delicious strawberry pie I've ever had.... and the only one I've ever made. Quite impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Everyone loved this, but it is a tad on the overly sweet side. Next time I'll cut down on the sugar for sure. The only complaint that I heard was that the crust was too thin. I used a premade crust though so next time I'll either make my own thick crust or do a double crust on the bottom. Definitely make this the day ahead if you want it to set properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I'm not a fan of strawberry pie, but they were beautiful, fragrant, and on sale, so I had to get some. I tried this pie and it was super easy and really very tasty. I painted the inside of the crust with white chocolate, and it gives the crust a nice extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clare
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Delicious pie. I was not sure how much a quart of strawberries was, but I used two 1lb punnets, one for the base and one for the sauce, used about 3/4 cup of sugar and a splash of lemon juice for some zip. Sauce was thickened in about 3-4 minutes Would be even better with a home made sweet pastry crust. A delicious taste of summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States