Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Good recipe! I made a few modifications based on my mother's strawberry pie recipe. I used only 1/2 cup of water and added one tablespoon of lemon juice and one tablespoon of butter to the mashed strawberries after they were cooked. I didn't simmer the entire 10, mins., just until the mixture looked thick and clear enough. I also let it cool down slightly before pouring into the pie shell. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This Turned out Really Good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Quick and Simple! I used 2lbs strawberries, mashing 1/3 of them. 1/2 cup sugar. 2T cornstarch with 1/2 cup water. I also painted the pie crust with melted dark choc. and let it cool completely before putting berries in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Oh my gosh I love this Pie and so does my family. Great for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This was absolutely delicious!! A huge hit with everyone that had a slice :) I followed the recommendations of 3/4 unmashed & a 1/4 mashed, as well as 3/4 cup of sugar instead of the full cup. Will be making this again, & i plan on using this for peach pie as well :) thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
this pie is amazing everyone in my family raved about this pie when i made it! I made my own crust followed the instructions on the tenderflake box i made and it was the best pie i have ever made thanks OKBEE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roberts Creek, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This was fabulous. I've made two batches and the only thing I had trouble with was needing to add a bit more cornstarch as I was stirring the mix on the stove. I mixed the cornstarch with a bit of water and just drizzled it in as I stirred until I was happy with it. Took an extra ten minutes or so. No biggie since it still tasted yummy and I got a great consistency afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
[7/4/12] Used just shy of 3lbs of strawberries. Used 1/4 for mashing and 3/4 whole strawberries. Used 1/2 water and close to 1 cup sugar. Quite sweet. Would probably reduce sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This pie was delicious and even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This recipe is awesome! It tasted fresh, not liked some of the cooked recipes for fruit pies. I followed the recipe except: I probably used more strawberries than a quart. The sauce thickened quickly and there was no need to cook for 10 minutes. As soon as it thickened, I took it off the heat and let it cool a little bit. After that just pour over the strawberries in the pie shell and refrigerate. I did notice it needed a lot of chill time. (I made it the day before). Use nice fresh strawberries from your farmer's market if possible. That makes all the difference! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 675) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States