Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This recipe is great! It was easy and my whole family enjoyed it. It was not too sweet and not too sour. I loved it and will now make this every Thanksgiving and maybe even more often than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I used one of the reviewer's suggestions of mixing the sugar w/the cornstarch and then boiling the whole thing until translucent. Not only did it set perfectly but the several hrs noted was not necessary. I used flax milk in place of water. I used a store bought graham cracker crust and frozen strawberries and had complete success. Thank you for this recipe! I banged out a delicious pie in like 20 mins. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was an okay recipe. I have not found a strawberry pie recipe quite like the mennonites in our area make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
WOW!! We LOVE this!! We bought too many strawberries at the Farmer's Market so I searched for strawberry recipes and found this. I do not like most pies but absolutely LOVE this and my husband who loves pies LOVES it too. The only thing I did different because everyone was complaining it was too runny and the crust got soggy is change the amount of water to 1/3 cup and it was perfect! The crust did not get soggy. Also, you can brush egg whites on the crust before you cook it to keep it from getting soggy. I did this the first time I made it and forgot the next time. It made a difference with the egg whites but with only adding 1/3 cup water it still did not get too soggy without brushing on the egg whites. I have made 3 of these in the last week and will make a few more before strawberry season is over. We also liked it better without the whipped cream because it took a lot of the flavor away but that is just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This was amazing. I noticed that some people said they had strawberry soup, I think it is because they either didn't put enough cornstarch in the mix or didn't let it boil for ten minutes. The stirring is a little rough after that long but after sitting in the fridge for about 2 hours it set and was very tasteful. My kids loved it and my husband loved it and he doesn't really like strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blahs4life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
easy & good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
use less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I followed the directions to a T the first time I made this and it was horribly runny, even after chilling overnight. It never did set. It still tasted so good; I was determined to make it again and make it right. On the second attempt, I completely omitted the water. I just added the cornstarch to the mashed strawberries while they were on the stove. It turned out perfectly when done that way. The consistency was spot on. Without the unnecessary water ingredient, I would rate this a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I have never posted a review before, but had to weigh in on this pie. I made the recipe as written (only change was I reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup) and it was the most delicious pie I ever made! It set well after 2 hours in the fridge and was perfectly light and sweet. I made it as a surprise for my boyfriend, who is a passionate strawberry fan, and he raved about it like I'd never seen him rave before. I will be sure to make this pie again for any picnics or cookouts we are invited to for the rest of the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States