Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This was very good...and, I'll say, adaptable. I had a grocery store shortbread crust (similar to graham cracker crusts). I made a cream cheese filling (sugar, vanilla, milk) to spread on the bottom of the pie, then added the raw strawberries and then the syrup. I followed the timing of the syrup and it set beautifully. I believe my cheese filling prevented the crust from getting soggy as others described. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I used twice the berries and coated the crust in chocolate. My crust was medium flake with a combo butter/spectrum and really nice too. I stuck the berries into the cooling viscose chocolate, let cool, then added the filling. I also didn't need 10 min cooking time for the filling. Thanks for the recipe and to all who wrote about their experiences - especially the chocolate!!!!!!! You rock!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I made this yesterday for my husband's birthday and it was good. I did not have any corn starch so I used about 1/3 cup flour instead and it turned out with a great consistency. It was a good pie, nothing super extraordinary, but pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Really easy to make, light and good. I placed smaller strawberries whole in the pie shell and mashed the larger ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
My whole family loves this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This recipe was very tasty, but didn't hold together well when the pie was cut. The sauce was a little soupy, but again, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I made this out of fresh strawberries from the garden and it turned out great and was a big hit for our family. but instead of putting it in a pie crust I tried put it in tart shells... they turned out perfect. I made a dozen by halving the recipe ( I cut strawberries into quarters before putting them in the tart shells). I'm also going to try freezing them next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
My husband absolutely loved this, and he's not a pie guy! I coated the pie crust with chocolate so it wouldn't get as soggy. I highly recommend this, especially if you like chocolate covered strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I was out of cornstarch and just used flour and it turned out perfect :) definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Hull and half 3/4 of the strawberries and pile up in the pie shell. Mash 1/4 strawberries and add 3/4 c sugar, 1/2 c water, 3 T cornstarch and boil 3 minutes - will be thick. Pour over strawberries. Refrigerate for an hour to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrianne Marskell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 697) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States