Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
This is why I LOVE allercipes.com: YOU! You gave me pictures and suggestions that helped me create a LOVELY pie! I used a little more than 2 one-pound containers of berries. Brushed a layer of ganache on the interior crust. (Handful of chocolate chips, dash of cream, pat of butter.) Started with one layer of sliced berries, added the mash (which I allowed to cool,) then added another layer of berries. Several home cooks arranged the berries very neatly on top. I liked the way that looks, so I did it, too! The whip cream is home-made. Added powdered sugar to stabilize and sweeten it. Garnished with mint, because it's a nice contrast to the red filling. This is a stunning pie, and it is the taste of summer! Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
This has become my go-to recipe during strawberry season! You may want to play around with it a bit -- as the recipe stands, is too sweet for my taste, and I have found 2/3 c sugar to be plenty. I also add a thin layer of mini semi-sweet chocolate morsels on top of the baked pie crust before adding the strawberries -- delish! People always rave about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This was my first strawberry pie so I was looking for a simple recipe with out a lot of additives,I try to make all my pies as natural as possible. I was a little hesitant because it seemed so basic as compared to some others I had looked at but decided to give it a try. Well I see why it got 5 stars,it was delicious.The only thing I will change when I bake the next one is instead of putting whole berries onto the crust I will cut them in half,just a personal preference. PS: If you got a soupy filling you either left out the corn starch or didn't cook it long enough,mine gelded up perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I made the recipe as-is and it tasted pretty good. I don't think anyone was overly impressed. It was really more like strawberry soup than a pie. Still, it tasted fresh and the homemade whipped cream made it a tasty finish to an Easter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This is great!! Used chocolate on the crust, and by the way a qt of strawberries is about 1.5lbs. I sliced my strawberries in my mushroom/egg slicer, picked out the pretty ones for the crust and what was left went in the sauce. I also used my immersion blender to blend, mixed all together and then boiled. As other reviews noted I also added a few drops of lemon juice and a pinch of salt. Well this time I decided to cut back on the water as others suggested, oopps!! not enough, had to rush and make more sauce very fast, thankfully it tasted like the first batch. Lesson learned, rather have more than I need than not enough. Left overs make good jam. You can also test your sauce to see how it will set, put on a cold plate, or dip on a spoon lay on some ice, and see if it sets, if not probley needs longer cooking, also taste before it gets to hot to see if you want more sugar or what. Next time I think I might try adding some vanilla. To bad I had to use my xtra strawberries to make more sauce, I was planning on dipping them in the left over melted chocolate to top my pie with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Kviten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This was the first time i ever did a pie and it turned out great! I agree with everyone else that you should go less with the sugar. I put less sugar than the recipe called for and it turned out just perfect as far as sweetness. My hubby was so impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I am lazy but have so many compliments on my strawberry or blueberry pies.just use the glaze in Publix good or homemade crust. I either put fresh whip cream on the top of each piece and \or softened cream cheese spread on the bottom of the cooled crust before filling. Then chill for an hour or so. Not actually healthy but sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Made this yesterday and will be making it again in a few minutes. Used 2 quarts of strawberries and cut out a little of the water. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I loved this recipe. For the cooked strawberries, I use an immersion blender and then stir the filling. Chill it for as long as you have time to. I gave this to my great grandmother for her birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
The pie would be great as writtrn. But...I felt that the pie was under-filled a bit. I took 2 oranges and peeled and chopped them into small bite size pieces. I spread this in between the strawberries in the pie. I then added the thickened sauce mixture over the fruit. I chilled it and served it with whipped cream. We loved the tangy, sweet combination of orange and strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Shaw Ardman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 701) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States