Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Perfect - Easy and quick!! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elko, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Delicious! I tried putting chocolate on the pie crust as one reviewer suggested but I highly advise AGAINST that idea. The chocolate flavor just overpowered the strawberries. Also, I would cut down the sugar to just 1/2 cup because if you have good berries, you don't need so much sugar. I advise to use just 1/4 of the berries for the syrup because mine became too thick to pour over the remaining fruit. Overall it is delicious and would make this again with market fresh strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Very good. Could reduce the sugar by maybe 1/4 cup or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayaclone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Easy to make, delicious to eat. My 8.5 year old twins helped me make this and we used the other pie crsut to cut out shapes like in one of the pictures. Made homemade whipped cream to top it off. YUM! Going to try it with blueberries next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Cut sugar to 3/4 cup, water tp 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This taste of the pie was okay, but it did not set up very well. By the next day, the last two pieces were spread throughout the entire pie pan. I even added a touch more corn starch, and a little less water when making it. I don't think I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
It smelled really good but did not set up at all - it was like soup (and should be made in a DEEP DISH). I asked the Buzz for advise and Baker Bee said "Sometimes if you cook cornstarch at too high of a temperature it can actually destroy its thickening properties. If you have more strawberries to put back in the shell, I would say it is okay to put it back in the pot and try to thicken it. But, make sure to keep the temperature at medium or below and let it slowly come to a boil to thicken. If it isn't thick by the time you are ready to pour it isn't going to get much thicker later." I got sick and couldn't get back into the kitchen to try cooking it again. Maybe I'll try this again and watch the boiling process closer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This is a delicious pie. After the cornstarch/water mixture was added to the filling, I turned the heat down to simmer, mine didn't take the full 10 minutes to thicken. I used a little less sugar because the strawberries are at their peak and nice and sweet. I added a little red food coloring to the cooked filling before pouring it into the pie shell to make it extra appealing, purely personal preference! I'll decorate with a few baked pastry star or heart cutouts before serving next time. This was my dad's favorite pie from childhood and it makes him SO happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Best strawberry pie I ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigBobber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I love this recipe and make it a lot during strawberry season! Everyone always talks about how wonderful it is, and I have given out the recipe too many times to count. Thanks for sharing this recipe! I love how easy it is, and how it doesn't require a lot of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 629) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States