Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I made it just as the recipe was written and it was ok but I wouldn't make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I thought it tasted pretty good, but I made some adjustments that may have made things not as good as it could have been. It is worth making again and reading notes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
My husband and I loved this! Not too sweet or heavy. After reading reviews, I dumped 3 cups of berries in the pie shell and only mashed 1 cup. I only used 3/4 cup of sugar. I used 2/3 cup gingerale instead of 3/4 cup water. Also, I threw all 4 ingredients in the pot at once, and it did not take 10 minutes to thicken.. more like 4. I did used a blender whisk to mix up the cornstarch but you could probably get away without doing that. I also added 1 tablespoon of sugar to my heavy whipping cream (used 2 cups, not 1) and spread it on top of the entire mixture. I popped it into the freezer for 2 hours since I was short on time, and it turned out great. Garnished it with a few leftover strawberries. It was so so easy! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This pie was excellent! It reminded me of the strawberry pie my grandmother would made when I was a child. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel Harney
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I just made this pie for the first time and it is delicious! Tastes like strawberry short-cake, but with a crust instead of cake! I took the advice of others using just 3/4C sugar and 1/2C water. I still used 3Tbsp cornstarch though, to be sure it set. I'm glad I didn't use more sugar like the recipe called for, it would have been too sweet. It was extremely easy to make the glaze! I just pre-chopped the strawberries, and once softened in the pot with sugar, I mashed them more. I like the look of strawberry bits in my glaze. I used red food coloring to brighten it up - but I also used 1 drop blue food coloring to give it a deeper "strawberry" hue - very appealing! I arranged my strawberries in my shell (I used "Ruth's Grandma's pie crust recipe), and spooned all of the glaze over them, making sure to get in between all the cracks. It set in about 2 hours and is amazing! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Harney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Best Strawberry Pie ever! I love the fact it doesn't have a ton of added sugar and is easy to make. This recipe is perfect for a summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I only thing I did differently was use more strawberries. I stuck to the recipe, and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made this pie for an Easter get-together, and I really enjoyed it. I used a different whipped cream recipe, though. I melted 2 oz dark chocolate and spread it on the pie crust per another reviewer, and that really took it to another level. My only complaint (and the only criticism I heard from other people), was that there was not enough whole, sliced strawberries, and too many "jam-like" strawberries. I actually used around 1.5 lbs strawberries instead of 1 lb. Next time I would make less filling and use more whole sliced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Love the fresh starberry taste. The syrup was too "gelitin" like for me. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
An immediate family favorite. I read through the reviews and made the following modifications that others suggested and it turned out awesome! I bought a pre-made crust and painted it with 2 oz semi-sweet chips melted in microwave for about 1 min (I also added dark chocolate chips because I love dk choc) and put it in the fridge to set. I used 4 cps strawberries, mashing about 1 1/2 cps. I followed the recipe except used 3/4 cp sugar and only boiled it for 2 minutes. I served it with cool whip and vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States