Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Next time I would cut the uncooked strawberries into bite-sized pieces so my young children could eat them more easily. Loved the taste though, and this was a big hit with my family. I used up leftover strawberries before they went bad, and had all the rest of the ingredients in my kitchen already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Taking a cue from others who had added a layer chocolate to the crust before filling it with berries, I cut the sugar to 3/4 cp and lined the crust with some dulce de leche I had left over from a mixed berry pie. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I love to bake but the only person I have to share my goodies with is my boyfriend so I cut the recipe down to two servings. I used Mom's Pie Crust from this site and baked it in muffin tins. If you do this make sure you prick your crust so it doesn't puff up. I followed the recipe to a t except for the strawberries, I just eyeballed that and I added some lemon zest. I mashed the strawberries until I got the consistency I wanted and put them and the cornstarch mixture into the pot. The mixture thickened in less than 10 minutes so I didn't really time it out. When it felt thick enough I put the mixture into the pie crusts over sliced strawberries. I left them in the fridge for about four hours and they were perfect. My boyfriend liked this pie better than the Chocolate French Silk I made the night before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
My mom and daughter made this today (probably with more strawberries that were called for - and they cut them up). Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by Lindsey
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I didnt really enjoy the gelatinous aspect of this recipe and I used double the strawberries and kept some of them halved (I was going for a Marie Callendars Fresh Strawberry pie look) see my pic! Also this pie really only seemed to keep for 1-2 days before the berries got too juicy and the gelatinous stuff started to turn an opaque purple color....icky But it tasted great the very first day. Overall I doubt I will use this recipe again, maybe just a simple syrup glaze over the berries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I modified and used the 3/4 cup sugar, 1/2 cup water. I also sliced the strawberries layered them on bottom and chopped the rest. This is my new favorite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This pie is wonderful and so easy. I also made this recipe with 1/2 Splenda and put it in a graham cracker crust! Marlene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Great recipe! Took advise of other reviewers and coated pie crust with chocolate--no soggy crust! Will make again, thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Cleaned out the freezer and came across strawberries I had cut and froze in the summer. Thought I would try this pie and pitch it if it didn't turn out. Well, it was amazing! Followed the recipe except cut the sugar to 2/3 cup and poured it into a chocolate cookie shell. I expected to wait until tomorrow for it to set, but after dinner (about 1 1/2 hr. in fridge)it was perfect. Can't wait to experiment with different shells and also try the melted chocolate idea! I would give it more stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 679) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States