Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Came out great for me. Made it as listed except that I bought ready made whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Simple and perfectly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayleR.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Rudis
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I've been making open face fruit pies for a long time but this was my first attempt at strawberry. Here is how you adjust the recipe for a 10 inch pie shell. Use 2 quarts of strawberries. Just under a quart is needed for the glaze and the rest should be washed and towel-dried gently, especially if very ripe. Just over a quart is reserved and kept whole/uncooked Increase the amount of sugar to 1 1/4 cups (you really don't want to double this) Increase the amount of cornstarch to 6 level Tbsp (I measured 5 without leveling) Increase the amount of water to 1 cup + 2 Tbsp In order to achieve the result as pictured, after "cooking" the mashed strawberry mixture, it is necessary to strain it into a bowl, leaving most of the seeds/pulp and using only the gelatinous, translucent portion. Also, I strongly recommending cooling the cooked mixture to room temperature (or even cooler) before mixing with fresh strawberries. I also highly recommend mixing the gelatin with the strawberries prior to placing in the pre-cooked pie shell. This will help form a more solid "filling" and prevents the strawberries from "cooking" and getting too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Rudis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I didn't get the pretty glossy red glaze color that I see in most of the pics. But it still tasted great and set up nicely. Thanks for the tip to prevent a soggy crust -- I melted choc chips in the bottom of the just baked crust and cooled in fridge before filling. Also let the filling cool. Next time I will try mixing it with the strawberries before filling the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
It tasted like strawberry jam, not really what i was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This soggy mess had good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I saw this in the All Recipes Magazine. It is strawberry season right now in Ontario and my husband is not a big fan of strawberry rhubarb pie so I thought I would give it a try. It came with a one pie crust recipe. I made it exactly as written except some Chambrod accidently splashed in it. I served it with the July 2015 issue of Chatelaine's recipe for vanilla ice cream. I'm now the best wife ever. I believe the comment was this is truly the best pie I've ever eaten. It's amazing to watch a man and his 17 year old son devour a complete pie ....in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Great pie... Be sure to bake the pie dough first and note that the whipping cream is to be used for a whipped topping and is thus not required for the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Super easy to do with kids! They felt so involved. All I did was the sauce. Easy to dress up for a more formal presentation as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
The absolute best strawberry pie! Just the right amount of sweetness. Topped with homemade whipped cream it was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 697) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States