Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Turned out great! Someone suggested I use ginger ale instead of water so I put 1/4 cup of ginger ale and 1/2 cup of water with my cornstarch just to try it and it tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
To sweet you loose the great taste of the strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I don't know what I did wrong but I followed this recipe exactly and it came out way too liquidy. I poured 2/3 of the strawberry mixture over the fresh strawberries and my pie was overflowing like crazy. I thought maybe if it sat in the refrigerator long enough it'd be soaked up or set up or something but it didn't. It was just a sloppy mess, a really delicious sloppy mess, but still a sloppy mess. I dumped the other 1/3 of the mixture which is a total waste of strawberries. I served this and those who weren't afraid to drip strawberry syrup all over themselves said that it was good. But, even though the taste was good, I doubt I'll make this recipe again. I'm sure I can find a better one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Pie did not look very good, nothing like the pic. Flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WrennWillard
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
A great recipe!! However I only added 2/3c of sugar. also, I added the mashed berries, water, and cornstarch together first, then brought it to a boil for 2min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I used frozen strawberries, mashed them up, did all the other steps, and worked out fine!! :D Frozen straw. were so much cheaper then fresh ones (frozen: 3.69 fresh: 5.99). Besides, everyone would have probably eat all the fresh ones! LOL, this is a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgu3mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Not only was this pie easy to make, but it was delicious. We had it for dessert at a family cookout and it received nothing but praise. Great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
recipe is great as is. Layered fresh banana's on bottom and sprinkled blueberries on top of whole berries then added filling. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Hubs & I went to a boutique this weekend in a quaint town & he spied a strawberry pie - he just had to have a slice! He was so disappointed, not flavorfull at all. Thus I promised to make him the best strawberry pie he'd ever had...(although I'd never made one before!) Yesterday I used this recipe & the family LOVE LOVE LOVED it! I did just see a hint about using gingerale in lieu of water...I think I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Delicious! I had a deep dish pie crust, so I increased the strawberries to fill the pie (but I kept the other ingredient quantities the same). I used about 3/4 of the strawberries whole in the pie and mashed the other 1/4 of the strawberries. Instead of following the directions as written, I mixed the mashed strawberries, sugar, cornstarch, and water in a saucepan and stirred until it boiled, then stirred for a minute or two more until it thickened. I made two pies and tried pouring the sauce over the berries in the first pie, but it was too thick and it didn't fill in the gaps, so I had to move the berries around to get the sauce to mix into the pie. With the second pie, I mixed the whole strawberries into the sauce in the pan and poured that mixture into the crust, which was easier. I "painted" the inside of the second crust with melted chocolate and let it set (as suggested by other reviewers) before adding the strawberries. It was good with the chocolate, but I think I preferred the pie without chocolate. I didn't try topping the pie with whipped cream because it was so wonderful that it didn't need it. I made the pies in the early afternoon and they were set by the evening. I think this pie will become an annual favorite when U-pick strawberries are in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States