Strawberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I made this yesterday for my husband's birthday and it was good. I did not have any corn starch so I used about 1/3 cup flour instead and it turned out with a great consistency. It was a good pie, nothing super extraordinary, but pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Really easy to make, light and good. I placed smaller strawberries whole in the pie shell and mashed the larger ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
My whole family loves this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This recipe was very tasty, but didn't hold together well when the pie was cut. The sauce was a little soupy, but again, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I made this out of fresh strawberries from the garden and it turned out great and was a big hit for our family. but instead of putting it in a pie crust I tried put it in tart shells... they turned out perfect. I made a dozen by halving the recipe ( I cut strawberries into quarters before putting them in the tart shells). I'm also going to try freezing them next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
My husband absolutely loved this, and he's not a pie guy! I coated the pie crust with chocolate so it wouldn't get as soggy. I highly recommend this, especially if you like chocolate covered strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I was out of cornstarch and just used flour and it turned out perfect :) definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Hull and half 3/4 of the strawberries and pile up in the pie shell. Mash 1/4 strawberries and add 3/4 c sugar, 1/2 c water, 3 T cornstarch and boil 3 minutes - will be thick. Pour over strawberries. Refrigerate for an hour to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was the first time I had made this recipe and it was delicious! That said, I am a relatively novice baker, but the recipe is easy to follow. I did make a few adjustments (like a few other reviewers had mentioned): 1. I used a 1 qt pack of strawberries, but I only used about a 1/4 to 1/3 for the strawberry mixture. 2. I pureed the strawberries instead of mashing for the strawberry mixture (it gave the mixture a nice even consistency) 3. My strawberries were mildly sweet so I cut the sugar down to 3/4 C and the water to 1/2 C. 4. I did a "cold start" like one review had mentioned and placed the puree, sugar, cornstarch, and water all together in one pot and heated it on medium until it thickened. 5. Added about 4 drops of red food coloring to the mixture (color turned out a nice deep red). 6. I find that placing the strawberries whole in the pie shell make it difficult to cut/eat later so I halved a majority of the strawberries used for the filling and quartered other pieces to fill in the gaps. 7. I set aside a little less than 1/4 of the pretty/evenly sized strawberries to slice lengthwise and arrange on top. 8. Did an egg wash on the pie shell prior to baking to help stave off sogginess. 9. Also used a cream cheese/heavy whipping cream mixture to line pie shell before placing strawberries and strawberry mixture in the pie shell- about 1/2 an 8oz bar and ~1/2 C whipped heavy whipping cream w/ confectioners sugar. Complemented the tartness of the pie nicely. Recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Turned out great! Someone suggested I use ginger ale instead of water so I put 1/4 cup of ginger ale and 1/2 cup of water with my cornstarch just to try it and it tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States