Strawberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Very easy to make, but a little too sweet for my taste. I like using oatmeal bars for quick on-the-go breakfast bars, and these were a little too messy and "dessert-like". Also, I substituted almond extract for the vanilla extract, and it was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldenlocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I used almond extract instead of vanilla and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stony Brook, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Delicious! I did increase the flour and oatmeal to 1.5 cups each, cut back on the sugar to 1/2 cup, and used a 9x9 baking pan. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Very good. I made more crumb mixture after reading the other reviews, which was definitely a good thing. They would have been very skinny otherwise! I also used more coconut, as we're big fans of it around here. Instead of jelly, I cooked strawberries down to a thick sauce and spread that - which was excellent! I made a 13x9 pan, and half was strawberry and the other half was blackberry jam, and everyone liked the fresh strawberry side best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
25 minutes in the oven definitly isn't long enough. I didn't realize this until everything was cool and I was eating it and there was still a starchy flour-y taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gravitydroppings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Delicious! I made the following changes, used a 9" sq pan for a thicker bar and more coconut for the topping. Next time I'll add nuts. Thank you Flo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This recipe was great! I usualy would get the raspberry oatmeal bar recipe off of a western family oatmeal box but we didnt have one so i used this instead.I added some chocolate powder to it though. this was a great recipe for mothers day if you cut out a heart!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Delicious recipe. Everyone loved it. We added melted chocolate to the top for a quick chocolate fix. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noah's Daddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is a very good recipe. I did have to use a smaller pan because I didn't have enough crust for the bottom. I will deffinately make this again but with these changes, 1.5 cups flour, 1.5 cups oats, 2/3 cup sugar, 2/3 cup butter, didn't use salt because butter is salted. This will give me more crust as it was very delicate. I also used raspberry jam and it was very yummy. I'll try appricot next time just for a change. Very good though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States