Strawberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Baked for 40 min. as previously suggested used real strawberries (used the strawberries in spiced syrup recipe, which is really yummy!) The flavor turned out great however they were too crumbly. I will try this again with more strawberries and more butter to help it stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stuffsalush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Great recipe, thanks! Works well in 9X9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I took Angele's advice and added more flour and oats. However, I think it made them too dry/crumbly. I do suggest putting the bars in a 9" square pan. These would be REALLY delicious drizzled with some cream cheese icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These were so delicious. I think next time I will try to make them a little healthier by cutting down the butter and using part whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Fitts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This recipe was easy and quick, I`ll try a different fruit next time, I also used a smaller pan and baked for 40 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This is a great, throw together quick recipie! I found it because I didn't have any "standard" ingredients ie: eggs, brown suger, chocolate etc. It tastes good too :) After reading the other reviews, I made it in a smaller pan and SO glad I did, I also increased the flour and oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
These cookies are awesome! I did follow Angele's suggestion about increasing the flour, oats, sugar and butter. I also added chopped walnuts, cinnamon and a bit more oats to the topping. This is the second time I've made these in three weeks and this time I used 12oz of preserves. I think the hardest part about making them is waiting for them to cool so that I can eat them! A co-worker described them really well, she said they taste like strawberry Good Humor bars. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I followed this recipe for the oatmeal crumb for the most part and used another recipe with date filling. I used 1/2 cup homemade apple butter(can also use apple sauce) and only 1/2 cup lite margarine to cut back on the fat. They still came out chewy and the whole family loved them. The extra spice in the apple butter gave them a great flavor. I agree with some of the other reviews with the pan size. I did not have enough to fill a 13 x 9 pan. I'm still giving 4 stars for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Made these last night and they were WONDERFUL. A little thin so next time I will use a smaller pan or make more of the crust mixture. Otherwise, they were delicious!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
These have potential, they're good...not great. Easy, throw together recipe. Maybe with some tweaking these could be yummy. Nuts, smaller pan...more coconut, maybe cinnamon? Something. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States