Strawberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
O my word, these are delicious! My husband and I couldn't get enuf of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
INCREASED BOTH FLOUR AND OATMEAL BY 1/4C...ALSO INCREASED BUTTER BY 2TBSP...USED FIG PRESERVES INSTEAD OF STRAWBERRY...OMITTED COCONUT MAYBE NEXT TIME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I needed to use up some excess strawberry jam, and this was a perfect way to do it! The bars were rich and flavorful. I found them too sweet, but my husband didn't mind them. I might try them again with some pretzels in the crust, or something else to give them more crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Delish!!! I used soft whole wheat flour and rapadura sugar to cut out the refined goods. I like that this uses half the sugar than another recipe I saw. Also used an 8" square baking dish which was a perfect size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Very Yummy! altho I made a few changes. Definetely double the recipe if you want a full pan of bars. I also used brown sugar instead of white. The one mistake I made: I added waaayy to much strawberry preserves. 1 and 1/2 cups should be plenty if you double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Super-simple to make and they taste fantastic. I can see making these with all different kinds of preserves. Used a 7x11 pan and they turned out perfectly. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
These were fantastic! I made them exactly as written except I used a smaller pan. I think mine is 7x11 inch. It was perfect. I think the bars would have been too thin if I used a 9x13 inch. I'm gonna try raspberry or orange jelly next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I didn't use melted butter, I used softened butter. (I've always found that using softened butter just turns out a better crust in a bar recipe.) I also used my own homemade cherry-raspberry jam in this recipe, as that was all I had on hand. To add a little more of a kick, I added a teaspoon of lemon zest to the crust fillings. This was very good, though I think this could be even better with a lemon glaze. I'm going to whip up a quick half batch and glaze the rest of the bars and then update my review on how we liked it. EDITED: The lemon glaze was quite good on this bar recipe. It made it a little sweet, but it mellowed once it was able to sit for a couple hours. With or without the glaze, it's a really good bar cookie recipe. The combination of flavors is really wonderful together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
very sweet, I didn't have enough ingredients to make both a top and bottom crust and it crumbled so bad it was best to eat it with a plate and fork. Not what I was looking for but good none the less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
These are good for a strawberry bar, but way to crumbly, I couldn't pick one up without it falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States