Strawberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is a very good recipe. I did have to use a smaller pan because I didn't have enough crust for the bottom. I will deffinately make this again but with these changes, 1.5 cups flour, 1.5 cups oats, 2/3 cup sugar, 2/3 cup butter, didn't use salt because butter is salted. This will give me more crust as it was very delicate. I also used raspberry jam and it was very yummy. I'll try appricot next time just for a change. Very good though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I didn't use melted butter, I used softened butter. (I've always found that using softened butter just turns out a better crust in a bar recipe.) I also used my own homemade cherry-raspberry jam in this recipe, as that was all I had on hand. To add a little more of a kick, I added a teaspoon of lemon zest to the crust fillings. This was very good, though I think this could be even better with a lemon glaze. I'm going to whip up a quick half batch and glaze the rest of the bars and then update my review on how we liked it. EDITED: The lemon glaze was quite good on this bar recipe. It made it a little sweet, but it mellowed once it was able to sit for a couple hours. With or without the glaze, it's a really good bar cookie recipe. The combination of flavors is really wonderful together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Very good. I made more crumb mixture after reading the other reviews, which was definitely a good thing. They would have been very skinny otherwise! I also used more coconut, as we're big fans of it around here. Instead of jelly, I cooked strawberries down to a thick sauce and spread that - which was excellent! I made a 13x9 pan, and half was strawberry and the other half was blackberry jam, and everyone liked the fresh strawberry side best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This recipe was easy and quick, I`ll try a different fruit next time, I also used a smaller pan and baked for 40 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
These cookies are awesome! I did follow Angele's suggestion about increasing the flour, oats, sugar and butter. I also added chopped walnuts, cinnamon and a bit more oats to the topping. This is the second time I've made these in three weeks and this time I used 12oz of preserves. I think the hardest part about making them is waiting for them to cool so that I can eat them! A co-worker described them really well, she said they taste like strawberry Good Humor bars. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This recipe was great! I usualy would get the raspberry oatmeal bar recipe off of a western family oatmeal box but we didnt have one so i used this instead.I added some chocolate powder to it though. this was a great recipe for mothers day if you cut out a heart!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
my hubby loves these - using a 9x13 pan I double the recipe - use 1/2 wht and 1/2 brown sugars, we use raspberry jam for a more sweet/tart effect and add a little more than it calls for, I also end up using a little more butter to keep the crust together. very yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
We thought these were tasty but a bit dry and crumbly. I added cinnamon to the topping and I think I would use more coconut - it wasn't very noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I used almond extract instead of vanilla and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stony Brook, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
very sweet, I didn't have enough ingredients to make both a top and bottom crust and it crumbled so bad it was best to eat it with a plate and fork. Not what I was looking for but good none the less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States