Strawberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
my hubby loves these - using a 9x13 pan I double the recipe - use 1/2 wht and 1/2 brown sugars, we use raspberry jam for a more sweet/tart effect and add a little more than it calls for, I also end up using a little more butter to keep the crust together. very yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I used a 9x9 pan and they held together really well for snacking (but still a little messy due to the crumbly topping). As always, I prefer to use brown sugar in my baking. I used 1c of my remaining strawberry freezer jam from last year - I'm not sure how that's different from preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
These were quick, easy, and very tasty! The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars is because I, like many other reviewers, would have preferred a thicker crust, and I even used a 9x9 inch pan. The recipe states you can use butter or margarine, but I used melted, reduced fat margarine and I find it changed the texture to more of a dough than a crumble, so next time I'm going to try cutting in cold butter like I normally do for crumble toppings. Also, I used half brown sugar and half white. Thanks for sharing this great recipe, Flo Burtnett!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesskrystal4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
We thought these were tasty but a bit dry and crumbly. I added cinnamon to the topping and I think I would use more coconut - it wasn't very noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
These were pretty good, as is ,but I gave 4 stars because I think they could use a bit more flavor. Next time I think I'll add brown sugar instead of white, the white sugar left the crust a bit flat tasting.. but all in all they were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenLotus77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
These are so yummy. I only used 1/2 cup melted butter in the crust, and it held together just fine. I also used more than 1 cup of jam. After measuring 1 cup, I microwaved it to make it easier to spread, but it didn't cover the crust very well. I wanted to be able to taste the strawberry flavor, so I added another 1/2-3/4 cup of jam. I love the addition of the coconut. After cooling at room temperature for several hours, I refrigerated overnight before cutting. They came out of the pan very easily and had lots of strawberry flavor. These were a huge hit in the teacher's lounge at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I made these according to the recipe, except using Splenda Brown Sugar Blend for the sugar and sugar-free preserves. I appreciated the fact that they were thin so that I am getting fewer calories! I will try them again, maybe with less butter this time. A keeper! Update: I made these with a low sugar cherry pie filling. It came out just like cobbler! I'm always thrilled when I can adapt a usually high-sugar dessert into something my husband and I can eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This is a yummy, quick, and easy recipe. It was good, but not amazing. I made it as written, except that I chopped up the coconut before adding it to the topping. I felt that there wasn't enough strawberry flavor, though...if I make these again, I'd definitely use more jam. They were good, though, and got eaten up very quickly. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by OzGrille
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Loved 'em! I'm not sure why I didn't read the reviews before I made these (I ALWAYS read the reviews first... duh) but even so, they were delicious just exactly as the recipe states. However, mine were a bit thin, so I would definitely use a 9x9 pan next time. I like the suggestions to add brown sugar, and perhaps some cream cheese icing drizzled over top. I also used fresh sliced strawberries instead of preserves. DEELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OzGrille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I increased the flour and oats to 1 3/4 cup each, substituted brown sugar, used 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup applesauce, and used fresh strawberries instead of preserves. I cut up about 2 cups of strawberries and tossed them with a little bit of sugar. I used 1 cup of coconut and 1/4 cup of chopped, toasted walnuts in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States