Strawberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
O my word, these are delicious! My husband and I couldn't get enuf of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
INCREASED BOTH FLOUR AND OATMEAL BY 1/4C...ALSO INCREASED BUTTER BY 2TBSP...USED FIG PRESERVES INSTEAD OF STRAWBERRY...OMITTED COCONUT MAYBE NEXT TIME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I needed to use up some excess strawberry jam, and this was a perfect way to do it! The bars were rich and flavorful. I found them too sweet, but my husband didn't mind them. I might try them again with some pretzels in the crust, or something else to give them more crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Delish!!! I used soft whole wheat flour and rapadura sugar to cut out the refined goods. I like that this uses half the sugar than another recipe I saw. Also used an 8" square baking dish which was a perfect size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Very Yummy! altho I made a few changes. Definetely double the recipe if you want a full pan of bars. I also used brown sugar instead of white. The one mistake I made: I added waaayy to much strawberry preserves. 1 and 1/2 cups should be plenty if you double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Super-simple to make and they taste fantastic. I can see making these with all different kinds of preserves. Used a 7x11 pan and they turned out perfectly. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
These were fantastic! I made them exactly as written except I used a smaller pan. I think mine is 7x11 inch. It was perfect. I think the bars would have been too thin if I used a 9x13 inch. I'm gonna try raspberry or orange jelly next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I didn't use melted butter, I used softened butter. (I've always found that using softened butter just turns out a better crust in a bar recipe.) I also used my own homemade cherry-raspberry jam in this recipe, as that was all I had on hand. To add a little more of a kick, I added a teaspoon of lemon zest to the crust fillings. This was very good, though I think this could be even better with a lemon glaze. I'm going to whip up a quick half batch and glaze the rest of the bars and then update my review on how we liked it. EDITED: The lemon glaze was quite good on this bar recipe. It made it a little sweet, but it mellowed once it was able to sit for a couple hours. With or without the glaze, it's a really good bar cookie recipe. The combination of flavors is really wonderful together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
very sweet, I didn't have enough ingredients to make both a top and bottom crust and it crumbled so bad it was best to eat it with a plate and fork. Not what I was looking for but good none the less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
These are good for a strawberry bar, but way to crumbly, I couldn't pick one up without it falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States