Strawberry Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BelkinErica
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
didn't work all the way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I used this as a frosting and added 1 cup unsalted butter and heated the egg whites and sugar. I used only a little heavy cream just enough to whip the frosting. I used one cup pureed strawberries and folded them into the frosting. Very yummy, like real buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
did not set very runny and not at all mousse texture and i am a ver advanced baker i followed suggestions but the flavor and texture were no good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I followed many of the extra suggestions by others and it turned out well. The original recipe needs to be 'tweeked' however. Good base, but needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fergus, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I have never made theiis recipe before but just from reading it Have a few suggetions.Beat your whiped cream with 2 teaspoons of sugar and maybe some vanilla. In a glass or dissolve 1 1/s teaspons of plain gelatin in cold waterin a micro waveable safe cup. Its going to congeal but dont worry. pop it in the microwave for 10 seconds and your good to go. I would mush the strawberries up with sugar and let them sit for at leat and hour. Next push the, throuh a strainer. I have seen recipes with as much as 2 cups of sugar before. you can really youse any amount you whish.combine the liguid gelati whit the strawberries Beat your eggwhitesover a pot of boiling water .they should be stiff peaks. as soon as the eggwhite are warm to the touch remove them but keep mixing untill you get the stiff peaks. for 6 egg whites I would use like 3 teaspoons of sugar. Finally fold the strawberries into the whipped cream and fold the strawberry whipped cream with the eggwhites .refrigerate. That's how you make mousse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This is so great! Light and quick! I too added a little more sugar to increase the sweetness. I left out the egg whites and froze the mousse. I let it sit on the counter for about 15 minutes before serving and it was great - it had a nice soft and fluffy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I loved the recipe. Having read the other reviews I added extra sugar. I also added a package of of gelatin to help it set up better and prevent weeping. It is still without shape but it does not weep. Next time I will add two packages of gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This recipe is succulent. The sugar is enough if your strawberry are sweet. The light taste makes you appreciate the taste of fresh strawberry. An hour in the fridge will help the texture. We can also add cream of tartar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIS4MUSIC
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This recipe needed more sugar or Splenda to bring out the strawberry flavor. I would suggest adding up to a quarter cup to the strawberries, depending on tartness and 1/8 to 1/4 cup to the egg whites and the same amount to the whipping cream. The egg whites and cream would whip up much better with the added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I was not very happy with this recipe. The mousse did not set at all and it was not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS TEMPEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Not Specified, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States