Strawberry Marshmallow Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was very tasty. I used blueberry jello, any flavor works great. I had a little trouble with it, when I added the jello to the syrup it started to set up and was grainy. I think next time I'll add the jello at the beginning and let it boil and dissolve, or add it to the egg whites after beating and before adding the syrup (like with divinity). I will definatly be making this again and tweaking it until I get it right. The frosting consistency was perfect (aside from the tasty flavor granules) and it made enough to frost two round angel food cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLBOOTH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I loved this recipe! I put it on top of a banana cake for my daughter's birthday, and the cake and frosing really complimented each other. I whipped the egg whites beforehand, because after reading the recipe, I thought it would easier that way. However, for some reason, the frosting was a little grainy. Maybe I needed to mix it more and/or longer...but you know what? The graininess made it TOTALLY AWESOME! It reminded me of cotton candy!! Really super good!!! This was a delicious frosting, and such a stellar recipe. I love it, I higly recommend it and I will definitely make it again. Next time I will try using white chocolate pudding mix instead of strawberry jello and I think it just might work for the princess cake I will be making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
LOVE this frosting! It comes out absolutely wonderful every time I make it, and folks rave over it. Use it to top angel food cupcakes and you have a no/low fat dessert! YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clear Lake, Iowa, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
My kitchen is a gigantic pink sticky mess right now, and my angel food cupcakes have no frosting. Normally I try a recipe a second time before determining whether I like it or not, but this time I am not sure if I dare attempt a second try. I admit that it is probably my fault that this did not turn out, but I routinely make mistakes with cooking and other recipes, but without ending in chaos and disaster like this. I should mention that I used liquid egg whites, rather than actual real eggs/egg whites, which I will NEVER do again. And I really might just be mad that my stovetop, floor, counters, and just about every other surface in my kitchen is somehow covered in pink stickiness. Totally not worth the trouble for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Just as described. I made this for frosting on cupcakes for my daughter's preschool party and everyone just had to have the frosting recipe! I did strawberry flavor on top of white cake cupcakes for valentine's day and topped each with a slice of strawberry in the shape of a heart. The frosting goes perfectly with white cake. Also, you can pipe it. I used a large star cupcake frosting tip and it came out very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Not sure how others got this to turn out so well. The directions are backwards. You need to have the egg whites ready first. You will not have time to whip them after you make the syrup. Got the same result as one of the others-- it turned rick hard upon sitting. Salvaged some, if you could work around the chunks! It was very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEXSYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I have to say, after reading some of the difficulties others had with this recipe I was a little nervous to make it myself. I took the advice to start whipping the egg whites while the syrup was still boiling. I actually had huge success with this recipe. Everyone loved how deliciously marshmallowy it was. It really has just the right amount of strawberry sweetness. It doesn't last very long though. The batch was way more than I needed, and since I wasn't able to use it right away the leftover frosting became very grainy and was unusable after about 48 hours. I'll definitely make it again, but just make sure I'm using all of it right away so none goes to waste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hollywood21691
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Probably the most delishous cupcake topper ever!!! So much better than basic frosting! Love the bold strawberry flavor (I bet it would be great with any jello flavor). It was super easy to make, even though I messed up a little by adding the jello mix to the sugar and boiling it. I just boiled the mixture till it bubbled and wasn't too concerned on it being thready. So simple but tastes sooo good! I used it to top angel food cupcakes and it looked professional and so yummy! Looks great alone or with sprinkles and other toppers. Easy to spread with a knife or pipe (tried both). It holds its shape when you spread it leaving a perfect swirl at the top. I can't say enough great things about it, will definitely keep and make again! Thanks so much for posting it! **UPDATE** I made this again last night with raspberry jello and it was just as awesome! I put it on chocolate angel food cupcakes and it looked perfect. I prefer the strawberry flavor but others liked the raspberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywood21691

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I used this recipe to top my own vanilla cupcake recipe. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Wonderful recipe for boiled frosting! One of our families favorites. This is just easier! Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States