Strawberry Margarita Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Made this cake for my sister's bridal shower in August, it was a huge hit. Now, I made it into cupcakes for my church group - bake for 15 mins at 350 and used lime jello mixed into the cool whip for the frosting with sliced strawberries on top - super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This was really delicious; however, I forgot about the lime zest. Next time, I will use strawberry Cool Whip and add fresh strawberries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I would give this 3.5 stars actually. I did not go the whipped topping route for the frosting, I made a lime buttercream that was a really good compliment, and made cupcakes. The recipe was easy and got really good reviews from others, my reason for only 3.5 stars instead of 4 or a full 5 is because I would have preferred a more pronounced strawberry & lime flavor to the actual cake itself. It was good, but didn't pack as much flavor as I had hoped for. Also, the cupcakes were a tad dry/crumbly, which I think may have been because of the use of egg whites and not the whole eggs, but then again, at the time I made these I was still getting use to using a new oven - convection at that, which was totally new to me, so that could have been my issue and not the cake, so I won't count off for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by gopintos
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
So yummy and moist. Was not a crumb left!! I don't know how it compares to strawberry cake mix, but this was certainly delish! I used Strawberry-Lime Margarita. I didnt have whipped topping so I used a cream cheese frosting with Lime zest. Then just before serving, I topped it with a strawberry w/sugary juice. Yum Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
this recipe is AWESOME! i went with cupcakes since i love them and it's so fun to decorate them. i made them for a small cinco de mayo get together this year and they were a giant hit! i followed the directions listed, and used a few of the suggestions that other folks through out there like mixed the lime zest with sugar and adding lime juice to the batter (i did the juice from half a large lime and would like to use more next time). I also added fresh strawberry slices to top my cupcakes off. :) The sugared lime zest and fresh strawberries really make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I used the suggestions to add lime juice to the mix, 1/4 cup of water, 1 cup of margarita mix. Then for the frosting I added the margarita mix to the cool whip, and a dash of lime. I grated the lime, added it to large decorating sugar and squeezed a bit of lime juice in to flavor it. I made cupcakes so I actually "lined" the edge of the cupcake like a margarita glass. Very moist, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel_K
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
The most common statement is that this cake tastes like BOXED Strawberry Cake.... YES, it does but WITHOUT the "artificial" after taste. It is still very good! I followed the recipe EXACTLY for the cake, and used my own "Lime Zest" frosting instead of whipped cream and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel_K

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Great! I made this for a potluck at work that was Mexican food theme. It was a huge hit! Everyone loved it and wants the recipe! Was easy to make, but found that I had to bake it a little longer than called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Star Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was excellent! I tweaked mine a bit and added 1 tbs. lime juice to the water and it was a very nice blend! also made cupcakes instead of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I've made this several times - as a sheet cake. It's easy and delicious! I like to add sliced frozen strawberries (thawed) on top of the cool whip. Yummy! Always gets lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States